STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1998 No. 3136

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES WALES

The County of Carmarthenshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1998

Made - - - 23rd November 1998 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

The Secretary of State for Wales, in exercise of his powers under sections 58(2) and 67(4) of the Local Government Act 1972(1) and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order which gives effect to proposals submitted to him in June 1997 under sections 58(1) and 64 of that Act(2) by the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales:

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the County of Carmarthenshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1998.

(2) This Order shall come into operation on 6th May 1999 except that for the purposes of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day, it shall come into force immediately.

Electoral divisions

2.—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the County of Carmarthenshire shall be abolished and the County shall be divided into 58 electoral divisions which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule to this Order, and each such electoral division shall comprise the area specified opposite thereto in column (2) of that Schedule.

(2) The number of councillors to be returned for each such electoral division shall be the number specified opposite thereto in column (3) of the Schedule to this Order.

 ¹⁹⁷² c. 70. Section 67(5) was amended by section 40(1) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29), article 3(a) of the Government Act (References to Aldermen) Order 1977, S.I.1977/1710 and section 66(5) and (8) of, Schedule 15, paragraphs 1 and 15, and Schedule 18 to, the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994 (c. 19).

⁽²⁾ Section 58(1) was amended by section 66(5) of, and Schedule 15, paragraphs 1 and 11 to, the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994. Section 64 was substituted by section 6 to that Act of 1994.

Register of local government electors

3. The registration officer shall make such re-arrangement or adaptation of the register of local government electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into force of this Order.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Wales

Jon Owen Jones Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Welsh Office

23rd November 1998

SCHEDULE

Article 2

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW ELECTORAL DIVISIONS

(1) Name of New Electoral Division	(2) Area of New Electoral Division	(3) Number of Councillors
Abergwili	The Communities of Abergwili	1
Ammanford	The Iscennen and Pantyffynnon wards of the Community of Ammanford	1
Betws	The Community of Betws	1
Bigyn	The Bigyn ward of the Community of Llanelli	1
Burry Port	The Burry Port ward of the Community of Llanelli	2
Bynea	The Bynea ward of the Community of Llanelli Rural	1
Carmarthen Town North	The North ward of the Community of Carmarthen	2
Carmarthen Town South	The South ward of the Community of Carmarthen	2
Carmarthen Town West	The West ward of the Community of Carmarthen	2
Cenarth	The Communities of Cenarth and Newcastle Emlyn	1
Cilycwm	The communities of Cilycwm, Llansadwrn and Llanwrda	1
Cynwyl Elfed	The Communities of Bronwydd, Cynwyl Elfed, Llanpumsaint, and Newchurch and Merthyr	1
Dafen	The Dafen ward of the Community of Llanelli Rural	1
Elli	The Elli ward of the Community of Llanelli	1
Felinfoel	The Felinfoel ward of the Community of Lanelli Rural	1
Garnant	The Pistillwyd and Twyn wards of the Community of Cwmamman	1

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

(1) Name of New Electoral Division	(2) Area of New Electoral Division	(3) Number of Councillors
Glanamman	The Grenig and Tircoed wards of the Community of Cwmamman	1
Glanymor	The Glanymor ward of the community of Llanelli	2
Glyn	The Glyn ward of the Community of Llanelli Rural	1
Gorslas	The Community of Gorslas	2
Hendy	The Hendy ward of the Community of Llanedi	1
Hengoed	The Hengoed ward of the community of Llanelli Rural	2
Kidwelly	The Community of Kidwelly	1
Laugharne Township	The Communities of Eglwyscummin, Laugharne Township, Llanddowror and Pendine	1
Llanboidy	The Communities of Cilymaenllwyd, Llanboidy and Llangynin	1
Llanddarog	The Communities of Llanarthney and Llanddarog	1
Llandeilo	The Communities of Dyffryn Cennen and Llandeilo	1
Llandovery	The Communities of Llandovery and llanfair-ar-y- bryn	1
Llandybie	The Llandybie and Heolddu wards of the Community of Llandybie	2
Llanegwad	The Communities of Llanegwad, Llanfihangel Rhos-y-Corn and Llanfynydd	1
Llanfihangel Aberbythych	The Communities of Llanfihangel Aberbythych and Llangathen	1
Llanfihangel-ar-Arth	The Communities of Llanfihangel-ar-Arth and Llanllwni	1

(1) Name of New Electoral Division	(2) Area of New Electoral Division	(3) Number of Councillors
Llangadog	The Communities of Llanddeusant, Llangadog and Myddfai	1
Llangeler	The Community of Llangeler	1
Llangennech	The Community of Llangennech	2
Llangunnor	The Community of Llangunnor	1
Llangyndeyrn	The Community of Llangyndeyrn	1
Llannon	The Community of Llannon	2
Llansteffan	The Communities of Llangain, Llangynog and Llansteffan	1
Llanybydder	The Communities of Llanbydder and Pencarreg	1
Lliedi	The Lliedi ward of the Community of Llanelli	2
Llwynhendy	The Pemberton ward of the Community of Llanelli Rural	2
Manordeilo and Salem	The Communities of Manordeilo and Salem, and Talley	1
Pembrey	The Pembrey ward of the Community of Cefn Sidan	2
Penygroes	The Penygroes ward of the Community of Llandybie	1
Pontamman	The Myddynfych and Wernddu wards of the Community of Ammanford	1
Pontyberem	The Community of Pontyberem	1
Quarter Bach	The Community of Quarter Bach	1
Saron	The Saron ward of the Community of Llandybie	2
St. Clears	The Community of St. Clears	1
St. Ishmael	The Communities of Llandyfaelog and St. Ishmael	1
Swiss Valley	The Swiss Valley ward of the Community of Llanelli Rural	1

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

(1) Name of New Electoral Division	(2) Area of New Electoral Division	(3) Number of Councillors
Trelech	The Communities of Abernant, Llanwinio, Meidrim and Trelech	1
Trimsaran	The Community of Trimsaran	1
Tycroes	The Tycroes ward of the Community of Llanedi	1
Tyisha	The Tyisha ward of the Community of Llanelli	2
Whitland	The Communities of Clynderwen, Henllanfallteg and Whitland	1