STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1998 No. 3135

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES WALES

The County Borough of Caerphilly (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1998

Made - - - 23rd November 1998 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas in pursuance of sections 58(1) and 64 of the Local Government Act 1972(1), the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales in February 1997 submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the County Borough of Caerphilly;

And whereas in giving effect to those proposals I have decided to make a modification;

Now, therefore, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by sections 58(2) and 67(4) and (5) of the said Act(2), I hereby make the following Order:

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the County Borough of Caerphilly (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1998.

(2) This Order shall come into operation on 6th May 1999 except that for the purposes of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day, it shall come into force immediately.

Electoral divisions

2.—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the County Borough of Caerphilly specified in the Schedule to the County Borough of Caerphilly Electoral Arrangements Order 1994(**3**) shall be abolished.

Section 58(1) was amended by section 66(5) of, and Schedule 15, paragraphs 1 and 11 to, the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994. Section 64 was substituted by section 6 to that Act of 1994.

^{(2) 1972} c. 70. Section 67(5) was amended by section 40(1) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29), article 3(a) of the Government Act (References to Aldermen) Order 1977, S.I.1977/1710 and section 66(5) and (8) of, Schedule 15, paragraphs 1 and 15, and Schedule 18 to, the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994 (c. 19).

⁽³⁾ Made on 19th December 1994 under Schedule 5, paragraph 2, to the Local Government Act 1972 (as substituted by the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994, section 3 and Schedule 3).

(2) For the purposes of the elections of councillors for the County Borough of Caerphilly, that County Borough shall be divided into 33 electoral divisions which shall bear the names specified in column (1) of the Schedule to this Order, and each such electoral division shall comprise the area specified thereto in column (2) of that Schedule.

(3) The number of councillors to be returned for each such electoral division shall be the number specified opposite thereto in column (3) of the Schedule to this Order.

Register of local government electors

3. The registration officer shall make such re-arrangement or adaptation of the register of local government electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into force of this Order.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Wales

Jon Owen Jones Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Welsh Office

23rd November 1998

SCHEDULE

Article 2

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW ELECTORAL DIVISIONS

(1) Name of New Electoral Division	(2) Area of New Electoral Division	(3) Number of Councillors
Aberbargoed	The Aberbargoed ward of the Community of Bargoed	2
Abercarn	The Community of Abercarn	2
Aber Valley	The Community of Aber Valley	3
Argoed	The Community of Argoed	1
Bargoed	The Bargoed and Park wards of the Community of Bargoed	3
Bedwas, Trethomas and Machen	The Community of Bedwas, Trethomas and Machen	4
Blackwood	The Community of Blackwood	3
Cefn Fforest	The Community of Cefn Fforest	2
Crosskeys	The Community of Crosskeys	1
Crumlin	The Community of Crumlin	2
Darren Valley	The Community of Darren Valley	1
Gilfach	The Gilfach ward of the Community of Bargoed	1
Hengoed	The Cefn Hengoed and Hengoed wards of the Community of Gelligaer	2
Llanbradach	The Community of Llanbradach	2
Maesycwmmer	The Community of Maesycwmmer	1
Morgan Jones	The Bryncenydd, Parcyfelin and Tonyfelin wards of the Community of Caerphilly	3
Moriah	The Abertysswg, Moriah and St. David's wards of the Community of Rhymney	2
Nelson	The Community of Nelson	2
Newbridge	The Community of Newbridge	3

Document Generated: 2023-06-28 Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

(1) Name of New Electoral Division	(2) Area of New Electoral Division	(3) Number of Councillors
New Tredegar	The Community of New Tredegar	2
Pengam	The Community of Pengam	2
Penmaen	The Community of Penmaen	2
Penyrheol	The Community of Penyrheol, Trecenydd and Energlyn	4
Pontllanfraith	The Community of Pontllanfraith	3
Pontlottyn	The Pontlottyn ward of the Community of Rhymney	1
Risca East	That part of the Community of Risca bounded by a line commencing at the point on the Caerphilly County Borough boundary at Grid Reference ST24879259, thence southwestwards along a track to Grid Reference ST24799214, thence southwestwards along a cart track to Grid Reference ST24679204, thence southwestwards along field boundaries to the stream at Grid Reference ST24459185, thence along that stream southwestwards to the place where it enters the Monmouthshire and Brecon Canal (disused), thence southwards along that Canal to a point due east of the corner of the rear curtilage of No. 8 Bryn-hyfryd Terrace, thence westwards to that corner and along the southern curtilage of that property to the mineral railway, thence southeastwards along that railway to the Caerphilly County Borough boundary, thence northeastwards and northwestwards along the County Borough boundary to the point of commencement.	3

(1) Name of New Electoral Division	(2) Area of New Electoral Division	(3) Number of Councillors
Risca West	That part of the Community of Risca not contained in the Risca East Electoral Division	2
St. Cattwg	The Cascade, Greenhill and Tir-y-berth wards of the Community of Gelligaer	3
St. James	The Communities of Rudry and Van	3
St. Martins	The Castle, Twyn and Watford wards of the Community of Caerphilly	3
Twyn Carno	The Twyn Carno ward of the Community of Rhymney	1
Ynysddu	The Community of Ynysddu	2
Ystrad Mynach	The Ystrad Mynach ward of the Community of Gelligaer	2