STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 1998 No. 2974

# LAND REGISTRATION, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Land Registration (District Registries) (No. 2) Order 1998

Made	-	-	-	-		1st December 1998
Coming	into	force		-	-	1st March 1999

The Lord Chancellor, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 132(1) of the Land Registration Act 1925(1), and with the concurrence of the Treasury, hereby makes the following Order:

#### Title, commencement and interpretation

**1.**—(1) This Order, which supersedes the Land Registration (District Registries) Order 1998(**2**), may be cited as the Land Registration (District Registries) (No. 2) Order 1998 and shall come into force on 1st March 1999.

(2) In this Order, unless the context otherwise requires:

"district land registry" means a district registry of the Land Registry within the meaning of section 132 of the Land Registration Act 1925;

"the Schedule" means the Schedule to this Order.

#### **District Land Registries**

**2.**—(1) The name of the Birkenhead District Land Registry shall be changed to the Birkenhead (Old Market) District Land Registry.

(2) Subject to the change of name effected by paragraph (1), there shall continue to be district land registries bearing the names specified in column 1 in Part I of the Schedule.

(3) There shall be two new district land registries bearing the names specified in column 1 in Part II of the Schedule.

(4) The district of each district land registry shall comprise the administrative areas specified opposite its name in column 2 in Part I or, as the case may be, Part II of the Schedule.

<sup>(1) 1925</sup> c. 21.

<sup>(2)</sup> S.I.1998/140.

Signed by authority of the Lord Chancellor

Dated 23rd November 1998

We concur,

Lord Chancellor's Department

*G. W. Hoon* Minister of State,

Jim Dowd Bob Ainsworth Two of the Lords Commissioners of Her Majesty's Treasury

Dated 1st December 1998

#### SCHEDULE

### PART I

### CONTINUING DISTRICT LAND REGISTRIES

(1) District Land Registry	(2) Administrative Areas
Birkenhead (Old Market)	Merseyside
	Staffordshire
	Stoke-on-Trent
Coventry	West Midlands
Croydon	Bexley
	Bromley
	Croydon
	Kingston upon Thames
	Merton
	Sutton
Durham (Boldon House)	Cumbria
	Surrey
Durham (Southfield House)	Darlington
	Durham
	Hartlepool
	Middlesbrough
	Northumberland
	Redcar and Cleveland
	Stockton-on-Tees
	Tyne and Wear
Gloucester	Bracknell Forest
	Bristol
	Gloucestershire

(1) District Land Registry	(2) Administrative Areas
	Oxfordshire
	Reading
	Slough
	South Gloucestershire
	Warwickshire
	West Berkshire
	Windsor and Maidenhead
	Wokingham
Harrow	Brent
	Camden
	City of Westminster
	The City of London
	Harrow
	Islington
	The Inner Temple and the Middle Temple
Kingston Upon Hull	Kingston upon Hull
	Lincolnshire
	Norfolk
	North East Lincolnshire
	North Lincolnshire
	Suffolk
Leicester	Buckinghamshire
	Leicester
	Leicestershire
	Milton Keynes
	Rutland

(1) District Land Registry	(2) Administrative Areas
Lytham	Greater Manchester
Nottingham (East)	Nottingham
	Nottinghamshire
	South Yorkshire
Nottingham (West)	Derby
	Derbyshire
	West Yorkshire
Peterborough	Bedfordshire
	Cambridgeshire
	Essex
	Luton
	Northamptonshire
	Peterborough
	Southend-on-Sea
	Thurrock
Plymouth	Bath and North East Somerset
	Cornwall
	Devon
	Isles of Scilly
	North Somerset
	Plymouth
	Somerset
	Torbay
Portsmouth	Brighton and Hove
	East Sussex
	Isle of Wight
	Portsmouth
	5

(1) District Land Registry	(2) Administrative Areas
	West Sussex
Stevenage	Barking and Dagenham
	Enfield
	Hackney
	Haringey
	Havering
	Hertfordshire
	Newham
	Redbridge
	Tower Hamlets
	Waltham Forest
Swansea	Barnet
Cofrestrfa Tir Ddosbarthol Abertawe	Ealing
	Hillingdon
	Hounslow
	Worcestershire
Telford	Greenwich
	Herefordshire
	Lambeth
	Lewisham
	Richmond upon Thames
	Shropshire
	Southwark
	Wandsworth
	Wrekin
Tunbridge Wells	Kent

(1)	(2)
District Land Registry	Administrative Areas
	Medway Towns
District Land Registry for Wales	All counties and county
Cofrestrfa Tir Ddosbarthol Cymru	Boroughs in Wales
Weymouth	Bournemouth
	Dorset
	Hampshire
	Poole
	Southampton
	Swindon
	Wiltshire
York	East Riding of Yorkshire
	North Yorkshire
	York

# PART II NEW DISTRICT LAND REGISTRIES

(1)	(2)
District Land Registry	Administrative Areas
Birkenhead (Rosebrae)	Cheshire
	Halton
	Hammersmith and Fulham
	Kensington and Chelsea
	Warrington
District Land Registry for Lancashire	Blackburn with Darwen
	Blackpool
	Lancashire

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order, on 1st March 1999, supersedes the Land Registration (District Registries) Order 1998 and:

(1) changes the name of the Birkenhead District Land Registry to the Birkenhead (Old Market) District Land Registry;

(2) creates two new district land registries called the Birkenhead (Rosebrae) District Land Registry and the District Land Registry for Lancashire;

(3) transfers responsibility for the registration of titles in Cheshire, Halton and Warrington, and the London Boroughs of Hammersmith and Fulham and Kensington and Chelsea from the Birkenhead (Old Market) District Land Registry (formerly the Birkenhead District Land Registry) to the new Birkenhead (Rosebrae) District Land Registry;

(4) transfers responsibility for the registration of titles in the London Borough of Kingston upon Thames from the Telford District Land Registry to the Croydon District Land Registry;

(5) transfers responsibility for the registration of titles in Blackburn with Darwen, Blackpool and Lancashire from the Lytham District Land Registry to the new District Land Registry for Lancashire;

(6) otherwise leaves unaltered the districts of the following District Land Registries:

Coventry Durham (Boldon House) Durham (Southfield House) Gloucester Harrow Kingston upon Hull Leicester Nottingham (East) Nottingham (West) Peterborough Plymouth Portsmouth Stevenage Swansea (Cofrestrfa Tir Ddosbarthol Abertawe) **Tunbridge Wells** Wales (Cofrestrfa Tir Ddosbarthol Cymru) Weymouth York