STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1998 No. 2547

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The District of Eden (Electoral Changes) Order 1998

Made - - - 16th October 1998

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated November 1997 on its review of the district of Eden together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(2) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of Eden (Electoral Changes) Order 1998.
- (2) This Order shall come into force on 6th May 1999, except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that date this Order shall come into force on the day after the day on which it is made.
 - (3) In this Order-

"the district" means the district of Eden;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; any reference to "the map" is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the

Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the District of Eden (Electoral Changes) Order 1998", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(3); and

any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number.

^{(1) 1992} c. 19.

⁽²⁾ Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

⁽³⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

Wards of Eden

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the district(**4**) shall be abolished.
- (2) The district shall be divided into thirty wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of the Schedule by reference to parishes, parish wards, or parishes and parish wards, or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of the Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Culgaith

- **3.**—(1) The parish of Culgaith shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names Blencarn and Kirkland, Culgaith and Skirwith and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheets 2 and 3 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (2) The number of parish councillors to be elected for the parish ward of Blencarn and Kirkland shall be three; the number of parish councillors to be elected for the parish ward for Culgaith shall be five and the number of parish councillors to be elected for the parish ward for Skirwith shall be two.

Numbers of parish councillors

4.—(1) The number of councillors to be elected for the parish ward of Ivegill of the parish of Skelton shall be four.

Revocation

5. The District of Eden (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State

Hilary Armstrong
Minister of State,
Department of the Environment, Transport and
the Regions

16th October 1998

SCHEDULE Article 2 NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1) Name of ward	(2) Description of area	(3) <i>Number of councillors</i>
Alston Moor	The parish of Alston Moor	2
Appleby (Appleby)	The parish ward of Appleby of the parish of Appleby-in-Westmoreland	1
Appleby (Bongate)	The parish ward of Bongate of the parish of Appleby-in-Westmoreland	1
Askham	The parishes of Askham, Bampton, Barton, Lowther and Martindale	1
Brough	The parishes of Brough, Brough Sowerby, Helbeck, Musgrave and Stainmore	1
Crosby Ravensworth	The parishes of Asby, Bolton, Crosby Ravensworth and King's Meaburn	1
Dacre	The parish of Dacre	1
Eamont	The parishes of Clifton, Sockbridge & Tirril and Yanwath & Eamont Bridge	1
Greystoke	The parish wards of Greystoke, Johnby and Little Blencowe of the parish of Greystoke, and the parishes of Mungrisdale and Threlkeld	1
Hartside	The parishes of Culgaith and Ousby	1
Hesket	The parishes of Catterlen and Hesket	2
Kirkby Stephen	The parishes of Hartley, Kaber, Kirkby Stephen, Mallerstang, Nateby, Wharton and Winton	2
Kirkby Thore	The parishes of Brougham, Kirkby Thore, Newbiggin and Temple Sowerby	1
Kirkoswald	The parishes of Ainstable and Kirkoswald	1
Langwathby	The parishes of Glassonby, Hunsonby and Langwathby	1

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of ward	Description of area The periodes of Creek Sellveld	Number of councillors 1
Lazonby	The parishes of Great Salkeld and Lazonby	1
Long Marton	The parishes of Crackenthorpe, Dufton, Long Marton and Milburn	1
Morland	The parishes of Cliburn, Great Strickland, Little Strickland, Morland, Newby, Sleagill and Thrimby	1
Orton with Tebay	The parishes of Orton and Tebay	1
Penrith Carleton		1
Penrith East		2
Penrith North		3
Penrith Pategill		1
Penrith South		2
Penrith West		2
Ravenstonedale	The parishes of Crosby Garrett, Ravenstonedale, Soulby and Waitby	1
Shap	The parishes of Shap and Shap Rural	1
Skelton	The parishes of Castle Sowerby and Skelton	1
Ullswater	The parishes of Hutton, Matterdale and Patterdale and the parish ward of Motherby of the parish of Greystoke	1
Warcop	The parishes of Colby, Hoff, Murton, Ormside and Warcop	1

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the district of Eden.

Document Generated: 2023-06-27

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Article 2 abolishes all of the existing wards of the district and provides for the creation of 30 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Article 3 provides for three wards for the parish of Culgaith and the number of parish councillors for each parish ward.

Article 4 provides for the number of parish councillors in the parish ward of Ivegill in the parish of Skelton.

The areas of the new district and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Eden District Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions which are located at 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.