STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1998 No. 2512

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The District of East Northamptonshire (Electoral Changes) Order 1998

Made - - - 8th October 1998 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated March 1997 on its review of the district of East Northamptonshire together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(2) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of East Northamptonshire (Electoral Changes) Order 1998.

(2) This Order shall come into force for all purposes on 6th May 1999, except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that date this Order shall come into force on 10th October 1998.

(3) In this Order-

"the district" means the district of East Northamptonshire;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and

any reference to "the map" is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions, marked "Map of the District of East Northamptonshire (Electoral Changes) Order 1998", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(**3**).

⁽**1**) 1992 c. 19.

⁽²⁾ Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

⁽³⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

Wards of East Northamptonshire

2.—(1) The existing wards of the district(**4**) shall be abolished.

(2) The district shall be divided into twenty wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 1.

(3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to parishes, or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

(4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Raunds

3.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Raunds shall be abolished.

(2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 2; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

Revocation

4. The District of East Northamptonshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State

Hilary Armstrong Minister of State, Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions

8th October 1998

(4) see The District of East Northamptonshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 (S.I. 1976/811).

SCHEDULE 1

Article 2

DISTRICT OF EAST NORTHAMPTONSHIRE: NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of ward	Area of ward	Number of councillors
Barnwell	The parishes of Barnwell, Clopton, Hemington, Lilford- cum-Wigsthorpe, Luddington, Polebrook, Thorpe Achurch, Thurning and Titchmarsh	1
Dryden	The parishes of Aldwincle, Islip, Lowick, Pilton, Stoke Doyle, Twywell and Wadenhoe	1
Fineshade	The parishes of Collyweston, Duddington-with-Fineshade, Easton on the Hill and Wakerley	1
Higham Ferrers	The parishes of Chelveston cum Caldecott, Higham Ferrers and Newton Bromswold	3
Irthlingborough	The parish of Irthlingborough	3
King's Forest	The parishes of Blatherwycke, Bulwick, Deene, Deenethorpe, Harringworth, Laxton, and King's Cliffe	1
Lower Nene	The parishes of Ashton, Cotterstock, Fotheringhay, Glapthorn, Lutton, and Tansor and Warmington	1
Lyveden	The parishes of Benefield, Brigstock and Sudborough	1
Oundle	The parish of Oundle	2
Prebendal	The parishes of Apethorpe, Nassington, Southwick, Woodnewton, and Yarwell	1
Raunds Saxon		2
Raunds Windmill		2
Ringstead	The parishes of Ringstead and Denford	1
Rushden East		3
Rushden North		3
Rushden South		3

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of ward	Area of ward	Number of councillors
Rushden West		3
Stanwick		1
Thrapston	The parish of Thrapston	2
Woodford	The parishes of Great Addington, Little Addington, and Woodford	1

SCHEDULE 2

Article 3

WARDS OF THE PARISH OF RAUNDS: NAMES, AREAS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of ward	Description of area	Number of councillors
Raunds Saxon	The Raunds Saxon district ward	6
Raunds Windmill	The Raunds Windmill district ward	6
Stanwick	Such part of the parish of Raunds as is within the district ward of Stanwick	3

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the district of East Northamptonshire.

Article 2 abolishes all of the existing wards of the district and provides for the creation of 20 new wards. That article and Schedule 1 also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Article 3 and Schedule 2 make electoral changes in the parish of Raunds.

The areas of the new district and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of East Northamptonshire District Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, which are located at 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.

Document Generated: 2023-06-26

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.