STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1998 No. 2509

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The District of South Northamptonshire (Electoral Changes) Order 1998

Made - - - 8th October 1998 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated March 1997 on its review of the district of South Northamptonshire together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(2) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of South Northamptonshire (Electoral Changes) Order 1998.

(2) This Order shall come into force for all purposes on 6th May 1999, except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that date this Order shall come into force on 10th October 1998.

(3) In this Order-

"the district" means the district of South Northamptonshire;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and

any reference to "the map" is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions, marked "Map of the District of South Northamptonshire (Electoral Changes) Order 1998", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(3).

⁽**1**) 1992 c. 19.

⁽²⁾ Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

⁽³⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

Wards of South Northamptonshire

2.—(1) The existing wards of the district(**4**) shall be abolished.

(2) The district shall be divided into thirty-one wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 1.

(3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to parishes, or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

(4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Brackley

3.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Brackley shall be abolished.

(2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 2; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of that parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be five.

Wards of the parish of Towcester

4. The parish shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 3; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of that parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be eight.

Revocation

5. The District of South Northamptonshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State

Hilary Armstrong Minister of State, Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions

8th October 1998

SCHEDULE 1

Article 2

DISTRICT OF SOUTH NORTHAMPTONSHIRE: NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1) Name of ward	(2) Areas of ward	(3) Number of councillors
Astwell	The parishes of Helmdon, Radstone, Syresham and Whitfield	1
Blakesley	The parishes of Adstone, Blakesley, Cold Higham, Litchborough, Maidford, Slapton and Woodend	1
Blisworth	The parish of Blisworth	1
Brackley East		2
Brackley South		2
Brackley West		2
Chase	The parishes of Brafield-on- the-Green, Hackleton, Little Houghton and Quinton	2
Cogenhoe	The parish of Cogenhoe and Whiston	1
Cosgrove	The parishes of Cosgrove and Old Stratford	1
Cote	The parishes of Pattishall and Tiffield	1
Courteenhall	The parishes of Courteenhall, Milton Malsor and Roade	2
Deanshanger	The parishes of Deanshanger and Wicken	2
Downs	The parishes of Bugbrooke and Gayton	2
Grafton	The parishes of Ashton, Grafton Regis and Yardley Gobion	1
Grange	The parishes of Kislingbury and Rothersthorpe	1
Harpole	The parish of Harpole	1
Heyford	The parishes of Nether Heyford and Upper Heyford	1
Kings Sutton	The parish of Kings Sutton	1

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of ward	Areas of ward	Number of councillors
Kingthorn	The parishes of Bradden and Greens Norton	1
Little Brook	The parishes of Aynho, Croughton and Evenley	1
Middleton Cheney	The parishes of Middleton Cheney and Warkworth	2
Salcey	The parish of Hartwell	1
Silverstone	The parish of Silverstone	1
Steane	The parishes of Farthinghoe, Greatworth, Hinton-in-the Hedges and Newbottle	1
Tove	The parishes of Paulerspury, Shutlanger and Stoke Bruerne	1
Towcester Brook		2
Towcester Mill		2
Wardoun	The parishes of Aston le Walls, Boddington, Chacombe, Chipping Warden, Culworth, Edgcote, Eydon, Marston St Lawrence, Thenford and Thorpe Mandeville	2
Washington	The parishes of Abthorpe, Moreton Pinkney, Sulgrave, Wappenham and Weston and Weedon	1
Whittlewood	The parishes of Potterspury and Whittlebury	1
Yardley	The parishes of Castle Ashby, Denton and Yardley Hastings	1

SCHEDULE 2

Article 3

WARDS OF THE PARISH OF BRACKLEY: NAMES AND AREAS

(1)	(2)
Name of ward	Description of area
East	The Brackley East ward
West	The Brackley West ward
South	The Brackley South ward

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

SCHEDULE 3

Article 4

WARDS OF THE PARISH OF TOWCESTER: NAMES AND AREAS

(1)	(2)	
Name of ward	Description of area	
Brook	The Towcester Brook district ward	
Mill	Such part of the parish of Towcester as is within the Towcester Mill ward	

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the district of South Northamptonshire.

Article 2 abolishes all of the existing wards of the district and provides for the creation of 31 new wards. That article and Schedule 1 also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Articles 3 and 4 make electoral changes in the parishes of Brackley and Towcester.

The areas of the new district and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of the South Northamptonshire District Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, which are located at 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.