STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1998 No. 2465

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The District of Sedgemoor (Electoral Changes) Order 1998

Made - - - - 5th October 1998

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated November 1997 on its review of the district of Sedgemoor together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect, with modifications, to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(2) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of Sedgemoor (Electoral Changes) Order 1998.
- (2) This Order shall come into force on 6th May 1999, except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that date this Order shall come into force on 10th October 1998.
 - (3) In this Order—

"the district" means the district of Sedgemoor;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and any reference to "the map" is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the District of Sedgemoor (Electoral Changes) Order 1998", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(3); and

any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number.

^{(1) 1992} c. 19.

⁽²⁾ Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

⁽³⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this order.

Wards of Sedgemoor

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the district(**4**) shall be abolished.
- (2) The district shall be divided into twenty-five wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to parishes, or where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of that Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature

Wards of the parish of Burnham-on-Sea and Highbridge

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Burnham-on-Sea shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names Burnham North, Burnham South and Highbridge and each parish ward shall comprise the area of the ward of the district bearing the same name.
 - (3) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be six.

Wards of the parish of North Petherton

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of North Petherton shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish of North Petherton shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names North Newton, Northmoor Green and North Petherton and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 4 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for the parish wards of North Newton and Northmoor Green shall be three and for the parish ward of North Petherton shall be eight.

Wards of the parish of Woolavington

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Woolavington shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish of Woolavington shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names Woolavington North and Woolavington South and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 3 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
 - (3) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be five.

Revocation

6. The District of Sedgemoor (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977 is hereby revoked.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Signed by the authority of the Secretary of State

Hilary Armstrong
Minister of State,
Department of the Environment, Transport and
the Regions

5th October 1998

SCHEDULE Article 2

NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1) Name of new ward	(2) Area of ward	(3) Number of councillors
Axbridge	The parish of Axbridge	1
Axe Vale	The parishes of Badgworth, Chapel Allerton, Compton Bishop and Weare	1
Berrow	The parishes of Berrow and Brean	1
Brent North	The parishes of Lympsham and East Brent	1
Bridgwater Bower		3
Bridgwater Eastover		2
Bridgwater Hamp		3
Bridgwater Quantock		3
Bridgwater Sydenham		3
Bridgwater Victoria		2
Burnham North		3
Burnham South		3
Cannington andQuantocks	The parishes of Broomfield, Cannington, Enmore, Fiddington, Goathurst, Nether Stowey, Otterhampton, Over Stowey, Spaxton and Stockland Bristol	3
Cheddar and Shipham	The parishes of Cheddar and Shipham	3
East Poldens	The parishes of Ashcott, Greinton, Moorlinch and Shapwick	1
Highbridge		3
Huntspill and Pawlett	The parishes of East Huntspill, Pawlett and West Huntspill	2
King's Isle	The parishes of Bawdrip, Chedzoy, Middlezoy, Othery, Stawell and Westonzoyland	2
Knoll	The parishes of Brent Knoll and Burnham Without	1
North Petherton	The parishes of Lyng, North Petherton and Thurloxton	3
	Δ	

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of new ward	Area of ward	Number of councillors
Puriton	The parish of Puriton	1
Sandford	The parishes of Chilton Trinity and Wembdon	1
Wedmore and Mark	The parishes of Mark and Wedmore	2
West Poldens	The parishes of Burtle, Catcott, Chilton Polden, Cossington and Edington	1
Woolavington	The parish of Woolavington	1

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the district of Sedgemoor.

Article 2 abolishes all of the existing wards of the district and provides for the creation of 25 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of Burnham-on-Sea and Highbridge and provides for the creation of three new wards and for the number of councillors.

Article 4 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of North Petherton and provides for the creation of three new parish wards and for the number of councillors.

Article 5 abolishes the existing wards each of the parish of Woolavington and provides for the creation of two new parish wards each with 5 councillors.

The areas of the new district and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Sedgemoor District Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions which are located at 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.