STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1998 No. 2346

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Borough of Berwick-upon-Tweed (Electoral Changes) Order 1998

Made - - - 21st September 1998

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated March 1997 on its review of the borough of Berwick-upon-Tweed(2) together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(3) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- **1.**—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of Berwick-upon-Tweed (Electoral Changes) Order 1998.
- (2) This Order shall come into force for all purposes on 6th May 1999, except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that date this Order shall come into force on 10th October 1998.
 - (3) In this Order-

"the borough" means the borough of Berwick-upon-Tweed;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

any reference to "the map" is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions, marked "Map of the Borough of Berwick-upon-Tweed (Electoral Changes) Order 1998", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(4); and any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to a sheet of the map which bears that number.

^{(1) 1992} c. 19.

⁽²⁾ The non-metropolitan district of Berwick-upon-Tweed has the status of a borough.

⁽³⁾ Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

⁽⁴⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

Wards of Berwick-upon-Tweed

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough(**5**) shall be abolished.
- (2) The borough shall be divided into seventeen wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to parishes, or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of that Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature

Wards of the parish of Chatton

- **3.**—(1) The parish of Chatton shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names Chatton and Hetton and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheets 13, 14 and 15 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for the Chatton and Hetton parish wards shall be six and three respectively.

Wards of the parish of Kyloe

- **4.**—(1) The parish of Kyloe shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names of Berrington and Kyloe and each parish ward shall comprise the areas designated on sheets 11 and 12 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for the Berrington and Kyloe parish wards shall be one and six respectively.

Numbers of parish councillors

- **5.**—(1) The number of councillors to be elected for the parish of Ancroft shall be eleven.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for the Duddo and Twizel wards of the parish of Duddo shall be three and two respectively.
 - (3) The number of councillors to be elected for the parish of Horncliffe shall be eight.
 - (4) The number of councillors to be elected for the parish of Wooler shall be ten.

Revocation

6. The Borough of Berwick-upon-Tweed (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1975 is hereby revoked.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State

Hilary Armstrong
Minister of State,
Department of the Environment, Transport and
the Regions

21st September 1998

SCHEDULE Article 2

BOROUGH OF BERWICK-UPON-TWEED: NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of ward	Area of ward	Number of councillors
Bamburgh	The parishes of Adderstone with Lucker, Bamburgh and Easington	1
Beadnell	The parishes of Beadnell and Ellingham	1
Belford	The parish of Belford	1
Cheviot		1
Edward		2
Elizabeth		3
Flodden	The parishes of Akeld, Branxton, Carham, Kilham and Kirknewton	1
Ford	The parishes of Doddington, Ewart, Ford and Milfield	1
Islandshire	The parishes of Ancroft, Holy Island, Kyloe and Ord	3
Lowick		1
Norhamshire	The parishes of Cornhill, Duddo, Horncliffe, Norham and Shoreswood	2
North Sunderland	The parish of North Sunderland	2
Prior		2
Seton		2
Shielfield		1
Spittal		3
Wooler	The parish of Wooler	2

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the borough of Berwick-upon-Tweed.

Article 2 abolishes all of the existing wards of the borough and provides for the creation of 17 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Articles 3 to 5 make electoral changes in the parishes of Ancroft, Chatton, Duddo, Horncliffe, Kyloe and Wooler.

The areas of the new borough and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Berwick-upon-Tweed Borough Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions which are located at 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.