#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 1998 No. 2345

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Borough of Blyth Valley (Electoral Changes) Order 1998

*Made - - - 21st September 1998* 

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated March 1997 on its review of the borough of Blyth Valley(2) together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect, with modifications, to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(3) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

# Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of Blyth Valley (Electoral Changes) Order 1998.
- (2) This Order shall come into force for all purposes on 6th May 1999, except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that date this Order shall come into force on 10th October 1998.
  - (3) In this Order-

"the borough" means the borough of Blyth Valley;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

any reference to "the map" is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions, marked "Map of the Borough of Blyth Valley (Electoral Changes) Order 1998", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(4).

<sup>(1) 1992</sup> c. 19.

<sup>(2)</sup> The non-metropolitan district of Blyth Valley has the status of a borough.

<sup>(3)</sup> Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

<sup>(4)</sup> S.I.1994/867.

#### Wards of Blyth Valley

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough(**5**) shall be abolished.
- (2) The borough shall be divided into twenty wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (2) of that Schedule.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Revocation

**3.** The Borough of Blyth Valley (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State

Hilary Armstrong
Minister of State,
Department of the Environment, Transport and
the Regions

21st September 1998

# SCHEDULE Article 2

### BOROUGH OF BLYTH VALLEY: NAMES OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)
Name of ward	Number of councillors
Cowpen	3
Cramlington East	3
Cramlington Eastfield with East Hartford	2
Cramlington North	3
Cramlington Parkside	2
Cramlington South East	3
Cramlington Village	3
Cramlington West	2
Croft	3
Hartley	3
Holywell	2
Isabella	2
Kitty Brewster	2
Newsham and New Delaval	3
Plessey	3
Seaton Delaval	3
Seghill	2
South Beach	2
South Newsham	2
Wensleydale	2

# **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the borough of Blyth Valley.

Article 2 abolishes all of the existing wards of the borough and provides for the creation of 20 new wards. That article andthe Schedule also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

The areas of the new borough wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Blyth Valley Borough Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions which are located at 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.