#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

### 1998 No. 2343

## LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The District of Tynedale (Electoral Changes) Order 1998

*Made - - - - 21st September 1998* 

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated March 1997 on its review of the district of Tynedale together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(2) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

#### Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of Tynedale (Electoral Changes) Order 1998.
- (2) This Order shall come into force for all purposes on 6th May 1999, except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that date this Order shall come into force on 10th October 1998.
  - (3) In this Order-

"the district" means the district of Tynedale;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

any reference to "the map" is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions, marked "Map of the District of Tynedale (Electoral Changes) Order 1998", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(3).

#### Wards of Tynedale

**2.**—(1) The existing wards of the district(4) shall be abolished.

<sup>(1) 1992</sup> c. 19.

<sup>(2)</sup> Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

<sup>(3)</sup> S.I. 1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

<sup>(4)</sup> see The District of Tynedale (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 (S.I. 1976/182).

- (2) The district shall be divided into thirty one wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 1.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to parishes, or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of that Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Wards of the parish of Hexham

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Hexham shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into four parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 2; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

#### Wards of the parish of Prudhoe

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Prudhoe shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into five parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 3; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

#### Numbers of parish councillors

- **5.**—(1) The number of councillors to be elected for the parish of Ovingham shall be eight.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for the parish of Slaley shall be six.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for the parish of Simonburn shall be six.

#### Revocation

**6.** The District of Tynedale (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State

Hilary Armstrong
Minister of State,
Department of the Environment, Transport and
the Regions

21st September 1998

### SCHEDULE 1 Article 2

# DISTRICT OF TYNEDALE: NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of ward	Area of ward	Number of councillors
Acomb	The parish of Acomb	1
Allendale	The parishes of Allendale and West Allen	2
Bellingham	The parish of Bellingham	1
Broomhaugh and Riding	The parish of Broomhaugh and Riding	1
Chollerton with Whittington	The parishes of Chollerton and Whittington	1
Corbridge	The Corbridge ward of the parish of Corbridge	3
East Tynedale	The parishes of Bywell, Horsley and Ovington	1
Hadrian	The parishes of Bardon Mill, Greenhead, Henshaw, Melkridge and Thirlwall	2
Haltwhistle	The parish of Haltwhistle	3
Haydon	The parish of Haydon	2
Hexham Gilesgate		1
Hexham Hencotes		3
Hexham Leazes		3
Hexham Priestpopple		3
Humshaugh and Wall	The parishes of Humshaugh and Wall	1
Ovingham	The parish of Ovingham	1
Prudhoe Castle		2
Prudhoe North		2
Prudhoe South		3
Prudhoe West		2
Redesdale	The parishes of Otterburn and Rochester	1
Sandhoe with Dilston	The parish of Sandhoe and the Dilston parish ward of the parish of Corbridge	1

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of ward	Area of ward	Number of councillors
Slaley and Hexhamshire	The parishes of Hexhamshire, Hexhamshire Low Quarter and Slaley	1
South Tynedale	The parishes of Blanchland, Healey, Hedley and Shotley Low Quarter	1
Stocksfield with Mickley		3
Upper North Tyne	The parishes of Falstone, Greystead, Kielder and Tarset	1
Wanney	The parishes of Bavington, Corsenside and Kirkwhelpington	1
Warden and Newbrough	The parishes of Newbrough and Warden	1
Wark	The parishes of Birtley, Simonburn and Wark	1
West Tynedale	The parishes of Coanwood, Featherstone, Hartleyburn, Knaresdale with Kirkhaugh and Plenmeller with Whitfield	1
Wylam	The parish of Wylam	2

### SCHEDULE 2 Article 3

# WARDS OF THE PARISH OF HEXHAM: NAMES, AREAS AND NUMBER OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of Ward	Description of area	Number of councillors
Gilesgate	The district ward of Hexham Gilesgate	2
Hencotes	The district ward of Hexham Hencotes	4
Leazes	The district ward of Hexham Leazes	4
Priestpopple	The district ward of Hexham Priestpopple	4
-	•	<del>-</del>

#### SCHEDULE 3 Article 4

# WARDS OF THE PARISH OF PRUDHOE: NAMES, AREAS AND NUMBER OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of Ward	Description of area	Number of councillors
Castle	The district ward of Prudhoe Castle	2
Mickley	Such part of the parish of Prudhoe that is within the district ward of Stocksfield and Mickley	3
North	The district ward of Prudhoe North	2
South	The district ward of Prudhoe South	3
West	The district ward of Prudhoe West	2

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the district of Tynedale.

Article 2 abolishes all of the existing wards of the district and provides for the creation of 31 new wards. That article and Schedule 1 also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Articles 3 to 5 make electoral changes in the parishes of Hexham, Prudhoe, Ovingham, Slaley and Simonburn.

The areas of the new district and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Tynedale District Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, which are located at 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.