STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1998 No. 1641

LAND DRAINAGE

The Thames Regional Flood Defence Committee Order 1998

 Made
 7th July 1998

 Coming into force
 8th July 1998

Whereas the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food considers—

- (a) it is necessary or expedient to make an order under section 16(5) of the Environment Act 1995(1) in relation to the regional flood defence committee specified in Article 1 of this Order;
- (b) it is inappropriate that the council for any county in relation to which an entry "none" appears in column (2) of the Schedule to this Order should appoint a member of the committee;
- (c) that one member of the committee should be appointed jointly by the councils for those counties and London boroughs in relation to which an entry "one jointly" appears in column (2) of the Schedule to this Order (including by the Common Council of the City of London where it appears in a corresponding entry in column (1)); and
- (d) that one member should be appointed jointly by the councils for the districts in the county of Berkshire.

Now, therefore, the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, in exercise of the powers conferred on him(2) by section 16(5) and (8) of the Environment Act 1995 and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf hereby makes the following Order:

Title, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Thames Regional Flood Defence Committee Order 1998 and shall come into force on 8th July 1998.
- (2) In this Order "the committee" means the Thames Regional Flood Defence Committee, being the regional flood defence committee established by section 14 of the Environment Act 1995 for which the councils of the counties or London boroughs specified in the Schedule to this Order and the Common Council of the City of London are the constituent councils.

^{(1) 1995} c. 25.

⁽²⁾ Section 15(7) defines "the relevant Minister" and section 56(1) defines "the Minister".

Number of members of the committee to be appointed by each constituent council

- 2.—(1) The number of members to be appointed to the committee by the council or councils of any county(3) or London borough specified in column (1) of the Schedule to this Order or by the Common Council of the City of London shall be the number specified in the corresponding entry in column (2) of that Schedule.
- (2) Where more than one county or London borough is specified in entry in column (1) of the Schedule to this Order, or where the Common Council of the City of London is included in such an entry, any appointment made to the committee by the councils for those counties or London boroughs, or by the said Common Council shall be made jointly.
- (3) The member of the committee for the county of Berkshire shall be appointed jointly by the councils for each Berkshire District as defined in article 2(1) of the Berkshire (Structural Change) Order 1996(4).

Revocations

3. The Thames Regional Flood Defence Committee Order 1997(**5**) is revoked.

Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture,
Fisheries and Food

7th July 1998

⁽³⁾ In accordance with regulation 5(6) of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994 (S.I.1994/867, regulation 5(6) was substituted by S.I. 1996/611), in relation to an area for which there is a district council but no county council, any references to a county council or a county shall be construed as including a reference to a district council or, as the case may be, a district.

⁽⁴⁾ S.I. 1996/1879.

⁽**5**) S.I. 1997/1363.

SCHEDULE Article 2

NUMBER OF MEMBERS OF COMMITTEE TO BE APPOINTED BY EACH CONSTITUENT COUNCIL OR GROUP OF COUNCILS

(1)	(2) Number of Members(6)
Counties	
Bedfordshire	None
Buckinghamshire, Essex, Luton	One jointly
Berkshire	One
Hampshire, Oxfordshire, Thamesdown	One jointly
Gloucestershire	None
Hertfordshire	One
Northamptonshire	None
Surrey	One
Warwickshire	None
West Sussex	None
London Boroughs and the Common Council of the City of London	
Barking and Dagenham, Havering, Redbridge, Waltham Forest	One jointly
Barnet, Brent, Harrow, Hounslow	One jointly
Bexley, Greenwich, Lewisham, Newham, Tower Hamlets	One jointly
Bromley, Croydon, Lambeth, Southwark	One jointly
Camden, Enfield, Hackney, Haringey, Islington	One jointly
Ealing, Hammersmith and Fulham, Hillingdon, the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea, City of Westminster, the Common Council of the City of London	One jointly
Kingston-upon-Thames, Merton, Richmond-upon-Thames, Sutton, Wandsworth	One jointly

⁽⁶⁾ In accordance with section 16(7) of the Environment Act 1995, this order has been so framed that the total number of members appointed under section 15(1)(a) and (b) of the Act is one less than the number of those appointed by or on behalf of constituent councils.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order specifies the number of members of the regional flood defence committee known as the Thames Regional Flood Defence Committee who are to be appointed by each constituent council or group of councils. The order takes account of changes in local government responsibilities which took effect on 1st April 1998. Regional flood defence committees of the Environment Agency were established by section 14 of the Environment Act 1995. The previous order is revoked.