## STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 1997 No. 808

## **PROBATION**

The Combined Probation Areas (Lincolnshire) Order 1997

Made - - - - 11th March 1997 Coming into force - - 1st April 1997

The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by section 2 of the Probation Service Act 1993(1), and after the consultation required by that section, hereby makes the following Order:

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Combined Probation Areas (Lincolnshire) Order 1997.
- (2) This Order shall come into force on 1st April 1997 save that for the purpose of making appointments to the probation committee for the Lincolnshire Probation Area to take effect on that date, this Order shall come into force forthwith.
- **2.** For that part of Schedule 2 to the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986(**2**) that relates to the Lincolnshire Probation Area(**3**) there shall be substituted the following:

Probation Area	Number of Justices on Probation Committee
Lincolnshire	1
	1
	1
	1
	1
	1
	1
	2
	1

<sup>(1) 1993</sup> c. 47

<sup>(2)</sup> S.I. 1986/1713, amended by S.I. 1992/2121 (which is amended by S.I. 1993/92) and 1993/716.

<sup>(3)</sup> The part relating to Lincolnshire was amended by S.I. 1990/1919.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

(1)	(2)	(3)
Petty Sessions Area	Probation Area	Number of Justices on
		Probation Committee
Caistor		1
Market Rasen		1

Home Office 11th March 1997 Blatch Minister of State Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986 (S.I. 1986/1713) so as to reduce the number of justices on the Committee for the Lincolnshire Area from 21 to 12. The petty sessional division of Lincoln District was formerly represented by 6 justices; the petty sessional divisions of Elloes, Grantham, Spilsby/Skegness, Boston and Gainsborough by 2. The other petty sessional divisions continue to be represented as before by a single justice.