STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1997 No. 783

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Borough of Blackpool (Electoral Changes) Order 1997

Made - - - - 21st February 1997 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(1)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report on its review of the borough of Blackpool(2) together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(3) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of Blackpool (Electoral Changes) Order 1997 and shall come into force on 1st May 1997 except that, for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that date, it shall come into force on the day after the day on which it is made.
 - (2) In this Order—

"the borough" means the borough of Blackpool;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, marked "Map of the Borough of Blackpool (Electoral Changes) Order 1997", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(4).

Wards of Blackpool

2.—(1) The existing wards of the borough(5) shall be abolished.

^{(1) 1992} c. 19.

⁽²⁾ The non-metropolitan district of Blackpool has the status of a borough.

⁽³⁾ Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

⁽⁴⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

⁽⁵⁾ see The Borough of Blackpool (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1975 (S.I. 1975/1913).

- (2) The borough shall be divided into twenty-two wards bearing the names set out in the Schedule and each ward shall comprise the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines.
- (3) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.
 - (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each of the wards of the borough shall be two.

Elections of the council of Blackpool

- **3.**—(1) Elections of all councillors for wards of the borough shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 1997, 2000 and 2003 and every fourth year after 2003(6).
- (2) The term of office of any councillor so elected shall be, in the case of councillors elected in 1997 and 2000, three years and, in any other case, four years.
 - (3) On the fourth day after any such elections—
 - (a) the persons who were councillors immediately before those elections shall retire; and
 - (b) the newly elected councillors shall come into office.
- (4) Paragraphs (2) to (5) of article 7 of the Lancashire (Boroughs of Blackburn and Blackpool) (Structural Change) Order 1996(7) shall be deleted.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State

Department of the Environment 21st February 1997

David Curry Minister of State,

⁽⁶⁾ For the ordinary day of election of councillors of local government areas, see section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50).

⁽⁷⁾ S.I. 1996/1868; article 7(2) to (5) makes provision similar to that made in article 3 of this Order.

SCHEDULE

Article 2

NAMES OF NEW WARDS

Alexandra

Anchorsholme

Bispham

Brunswick

Claremont

Clifton

Foxhall

Greenlands

Hawes Side

Highfield

Ingthorpe

Layton

Marton

Norbreck

Park

Squires Gate

Stanley

Talbot

Tyldesley

Victoria

Warbreck

Waterloo

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the borough of Blackpool. All of the existing wards of the borough are abolished and 22 new wards are created, having the names set out in the Schedule. Each new ward has two councillors. The areas of the new wards are demarcated on the map referred to in article 1(2). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of the Blackpool Borough Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment which, until May 1997, are located at 2 Marsham Street, London SW1P 3EB and, thereafter, at 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Article 3 makes provision for elections to the council of the borough in 1997, 2000, 2003 and every fourth year after 2003.