STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1997 No. 2913

ROAD TRAFFIC

The Courses for Drink-Drive Offenders (Designation of Areas) Order 1997

Made - - - - 8th December 1997

Laid before Parliament 10th December 1997

Coming into force - - 31st December 1997

The Secretary of State for Transport, in exercise of the powers conferred by section 31(6) and (7) of the Road Traffic Act 1991(1), and all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:—

Commencement and citation

1. This Order may be cited as the Courses for Drink-Drive Offenders (Designation of Areas) Order 1997 and shall come into force on 31st December 1997.

Revocation

2. The Courses for Drink-Drive Offenders (Designation of Areas) Order 1992(2) is hereby revoked.

Interpretation

3. In this Order "experimental period" has the meaning given in section 31 of the Road Traffic Act 1991(**3**).

Designation of areas and districts

- **4.** The following areas and districts are hereby designated for the purposes of section 31 of the Road Traffic Act 1991—
 - (a) the petty sessions areas specified in Schedule 1 to this Order;
 - (b) the districts and the commission area in Scotland specified in Schedule 2 to this Order.

^{(1) 1991} c. 40.

⁽²⁾ S.I.1992/3014.

⁽³⁾ The "experimental period" was extended by the Courses for Drink-Drive Offenders (Experimental Period) Order 1997 (S.I. 1997/949).

Period of designation

5. Those areas and districts are designated until the end of the experimental period.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State

Helene Hayman
Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State,
Department of the Environment, Transport and
the Regions

8th December 1997

SCHEDULE 1

Regulation 4(a)

PETTY SESSIONS AREAS

Petty sessional divisions of non-metropolitan counties and metropolitan districts

Abingdon, Didcot and Wantage

Aldridge & Brownhills

Appleby

Ashford and Tenterden

Bath and Wansdyke

Birmingham

Bishops Stortford

Boston

Bourne and Stamford

Bournemouth and Christchurch

Brecon

Bridgnorth

Bristol

Bromsgrove and Redditch

Burton upon Trent

Caistor

Cannock

Canterbury and St. Augustine

Cardiff

Carlisle

Carmarthen South

Carmarthen North

Central Dorset

Ceredigion Ganol

Cheshunt

Cirencester, Fairford and Tetbury

Cleddau

Corby

Cynon Valley

Dacorum

Dartford

De Ceredigion

Deben

Dinefwr

Dover and East Kent

Drayton

Gloucester
Gogledd Ceredigion
Gogledd Preseli
Grantham
Gravesham
Hartlepool
Hertford and Ware
Ipswich
Kendal and Lonsdale
Kennet
Keswick
Kettering
Knowsley
Lichfield
Lincoln District
Liverpool
Llanelli
Ludlow
Machynlleth
Maidenhead
Maidstone
Market Rasen
Medway
Mendip
Merthyr Tydfil
Mid Staffordshire
Mid-Hertfordshire
Miskin
Neath Port Talbot
New Forest

Dudley Elloes Exeter Exmouth

Forest

Forest of Dean Furness and District

Gainsborough

Faversham and Sittingbourne

Folkestone and Hythe

Newcastle and Ogmore

Newcastle Under Lyme and Pirehill North

Newtown

North Avon

North East Suffolk

North Gloucestershire

North Hertfordshire

North Sefton

North West Hampshire

North West Suffolk

North Wiltshire

Northampton

Oswestry

Oxford

Penrith and Alston

Peterborough

Pontefract

Poole

Radnorshire and North Brecknock

Reading and Sonning

Risbridge

Rugeley

Sedgemoor

Seisdon

Sevenoaks

Severnminster

Shrewsbury

Sleaford

Slough

Solihull

South Gloucestershire

South Lakes

South Pembrokeshire

South Sefton

South Somerset

South Worcestershire

Southampton

Spilsby and Skegness

St. Albans

St. Edmundsbury

	Staffordshire Moorlands
	Stoke on Trent
	Stourbridge and Halesowen
	Stow
	Sudbury and Cosford
	Sutton Coldfield
	Swansea County
	Swindon
	Tamworth
	Taunton Deane
	Telford
	Thame and Henley
	Thanet
	The Wolds
	Tonbridge and Malling
	Tunbridge Wells and Cranbrook
	Vale of Glamorgan
	Wakefield
	Walsall
	Warley
	Watford
	Wellingborough
	Welshpool
	West Allerdale
	West Bromwich
	West Dorset
	West Somerset
	West Wiltshire
	Weymouth and Portland
	Whitehaven
	Wigton
	Windsor
	Ystradgynlais
Me	tropolitan Districts not divided into petty sessional divisions
	Barnsley
	Doncaster
	Rotherham
	Sheffield
	South Tyneside
	St. Helens

Wirral

Wolverhampton

Outer London Boroughs not divided into petty sessional divisions

Bexley

Bromley

Croydon

Petty sessional divisions of the inner London area

North Westminster

South Central

South Eastern

South Western

South Westminster

Thames

West Central

West London

SCHEDULE 2

Regulation 4(b)

DISTRICTS AND COMMISSION AREA IN SCOTLAND

Districts

Dumbarton Sheriff Court district

Glasgow and Strathkelvin Sheriff Court district

Greenock Sheriff Court district

Hamilton Sheriff Court district

Paisley Sheriff Court district

Stornoway Sheriff Court district

Commission Area

City of Glasgow District

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order revokes and replaces with modifications the Courses for Drink-Drive Offenders (Designation of Areas) Order 1992. Sections 34A and 34B of the Road Traffic Offenders Act 1988 give courts in designated areas the power to order that a period of disqualification imposed on a person convicted of a drink-drive offence be reduced, if he completes a course approved by the

Secretary of State. Section 31 of the Road Traffic Act 1991 applies those provisions during an experimental period which runs to the end of 1999.

This Order adds further areas to the list of areas designated for the purposes of section 31 of the 1991 Act by the 1992 Order. It takes account of relevant changes made under the Local Government Act 1992(c. 19).