STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1997 No. 234

TELECOMMUNICATIONS

The Public Telecommunication System Designation (Telewest Communications (Southport) Limited) Order 1997

Made	5th February 1997
Laid before Parliament	6th February 1997
Coming into force	7th March 1997

Whereas the Secretary of State has granted to Telewest Communications (Southport) Limited on 19th December 1996 a licence ("the Licence") under section 7 of the Telecommunications Act 1984(1) ("the Act"), to which section 8 of the Act applies, for the running of the telecommunication systems specified in the Licence ("the Applicable Systems"):

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 9 of the Act, hereby makes the following Order:—

1. This Order may be cited as the Public Telecommunication System Designation (Telewest Communications (Southport) Limited) Order 1997 and shall come into force on 7th March 1997.

2. Each of the Applicable Systems is hereby designated as a public telecommunication system.

Ian Taylor; Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Science and Technology, Department of Trade and Industry

5th February 1997

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

The Secretary of State granted to Telewest Communications (Southport) Limited a licence on 19th December 1996 under section 7 of the Telecommunications Act 1984 to run the telecommunication systems specified in that Licence in the whole of the local authority areas of Sefton, West Lancashire, South Ribble and Chorley, other than those parts of the area covered by the existing Central Lancashire and North Liverpool and Sefton cable franchises. A copy of the licence was laid before Parliament on 6th February 1997. This Order designates those telecommunication systems as public telecommunication systems. Consequently, by virtue of section 9(3) of that Act, Telewest Communications (Southport) Limited will be a public telecommunications operator when the Order comes into force on 7th March 1997.

A copy of the licence may be obtained from the Office of Telecommunications, 50 Ludgate Hill, London, EC4M 7JJ.