Search Legislation

The National Health Service (Functions of Health Authorities in London) Regulations 1996

What Version

 Help about what version
  • Latest available (Revised)
  • Original (As made)


This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Regulation 1(2)


1.  For the purposes of these Regulations the London Initiative Zone consists of the area comprising all of the following—

(a)the areas of all those Health Authorities listed in paragraph 2, and

(b)for each Health Authority listed in column 1 of the Table in paragraph 3, that part of its area listed in column 2 of that Table.

2.  The list of Health Authorities(1) referred to in paragraph 1(1)(a) is—

  • Camden & Islington

  • East London and the City

  • Ealing, Hammersmith & Hounslow

  • Kensington & Chelsea and Westminster

  • Lambeth, Southwark and Lewisham

3.  The Table referred to in paragraph 1(1)(b) is—

Name of Health Authority(2)Part of Health Authority within London Initiative Zone
Barking & HaveringThe London borough of Barking and Dagenham, with the exception of the ward of Becontree and the parish of Padnall(3).
Brent & HarrowThe London borough of Brent.
CroydonIn the London borough of Croydon, the wards(4) of Addiscombe, Ashburton, Beulah, Bensham Manor, Broad Green, Fairfield, Monks Orchard, Norbury, Rylands, South Norwood, Spring Park, Thornton Heath, Upper Norwood, Waddon, West Thornton, Whitehourse Manor and Woodside.
Enfield & HaringeyIn the London borough of Enfield, the wards(5) of Angel Road, Bullsmoor, Craig Park, Enfield Lock, Enfield Wash, Green Street, Hoe Lane, Huxley, Jubilee, Latymer, Ponders End, Raglan, Southbury, St. Alphege, St. Marks, St. Peters and Weir Hall.
In the London borough of Haringey, the wards(6)of Bruce Grove, Coleraine, Green Lanes, Haringey, High Cross, Noel Park, Park, Seven Sisters, South Hornsey, South Tottenham, Tottenham Central, West Green, White Hart Lane and Woodside.
Bexley and GreenwichThe London borough of Greenwich and, in the London borough of Bexley, the ward(7) of Thamesmead East.
Merton Sutton and WandsworthThe London borough of Wandsworth.
Redbridge and Waltham ForestThe London borough of Waltham Forest.

See the Health Authorities (England) Establishment Order 1996 (S.I. 1996/624).


See the Health Authorities (England) Establishment Order 1996 (S.I. 1996/624).


See the East London Boroughs (London Borough Boundaries) Order 1993 (S.I. 1993/1443).


See the London Borough of Croydon (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977 (S.I. 1997/1564).


See the London Borough of Enfield (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1980 (S.I. 1980/732).


See the London Borough of Haringey (Electoral Arrangements)Order 1977 (S.I. 1977/2067).


See the London Borough of Bexley (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977 (S.I. 1977/1763).

Back to top


Print Options


Legislation is available in different versions:

Latest Available (revised):The latest available updated version of the legislation incorporating changes made by subsequent legislation and applied by our editorial team. Changes we have not yet applied to the text, can be found in the ‘Changes to Legislation’ area.

Original (As Enacted or Made):The original version of the legislation as it stood when it was enacted or made. No changes have been applied to the text.


Opening Options

Different options to open legislation in order to view more content on screen at once


More Resources

Access essential accompanying documents and information for this legislation item from this tab. Dependent on the legislation item being viewed this may include:

  • the original print PDF of the as enacted version that was used for the print copy
  • lists of changes made by and/or affecting this legislation item
  • confers power and blanket amendment details
  • all formats of all associated documents
  • correction slips
  • links to related legislation and further information resources