STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1996 No. 1922

REPRESENTATION OF THE PEOPLE

REDISTRIBUTION OF SEATS AND REVIEW OF ELECTION ARRANGEMENTS

The Parliamentary Constituencies (England) (Miscellaneous Changes) Order 1996

Made - - - - 23rd July 1996

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(3)

At the Court at Buckingham Palace, the 23rd day of July 1996 Present,

The Queen's Most Excellent Majesty in Council

Whereas in pursuance of section 3(3) of the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986(1) the Boundary Commission for England have submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated 17th May 1996 with respect to the areas to be comprised in certain constituencies in England and showing the constituencies into which they recommend, in accordance with the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986, that the areas should be divided;

And whereas the Secretary of State has laid that report before Parliament together with the draft of this Order in Council to give effect to the recommendations contained in the report and each House of Parliament has by resolution approved the said draft;

Now, therefore, Her Majesty, in pursuance of section 4 of the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986, is pleased, by and with the advice of Her Privy Council, to order, and it is hereby ordered, as follows:

- **1.**—(1) This Order may be cited as the Parliamentary Constituencies (England) (Miscellaneous Changes) Order 1996.
- (2) In this Order "the 1995 Order" means the Parliamentary Constituencies (England) Order 1995(2).
- (3) Subject to section 4(6) of the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986, this Order shall come into force on the day after the day on which it is made.

^{(1) 1986} c. 56.

⁽²⁾ S. I. 1995/1626.

- **2.** For the constituencies of Birmingham, Edgbaston, Birmingham, Northfield, Birmingham, Selly Oak and Bromsgrove as constituted by the Schedule to the 1995 Order (and described by reference to local government areas as they existed on 1st June 1994), there shall be substituted the constituencies which—
 - (a) are named in the left-hand column of Part I of the Schedule to this Order;
 - (b) are designated in that column as either borough constituencies or county constituencies; and
 - (c) comprise the areas set out in the right-hand column of that Part (which are local government areas as they existed on 17th May 1996).
- **3.** For the constituencies of Chingford and Woodford Green, Epping Forest, Ilford North, Leyton and Wanstead and Walthamstow as constituted by the Schedule to the 1995 Order (and described by reference to local government areas as they existed on 1st June 1994), there shall be substituted the constituencies which—
 - (a) are named in the left-hand column of Part II of the Schedule to this Order;
 - (b) are designated in that column as either borough constituencies or county constituencies; and
 - (c) comprise the areas set out in the right-hand column of that Part (which are local government areas as they existed on 17th May 1996).
- **4.** Each electoral registration officer for the constituencies referred to in this Order shall make such re-arrangement or adaptation of the registers of parliamentary electors as may be necessary to give effect to this Order.

N. H. Nicholls Clerk of the Privy Council

SCHEDULE

NEW CONSTITUENCIES

Name and designation	Composition
PART I	
Birmingham, Edgbaston (borough constituency)	The Bartley Green, Edgbaston, Harborne and Quinton wards of the City of Birmingham.
Birmingham, Northfield (borough constituency)	The Longbridge, Northfield and Weoley wards of the City of Birmingham.
Birmingham, Selly Oak (borough constituency)	The Bournville, King's Norton, Moseley and Selly Oak wards of the City of Birmingham.
Bromsgrove (county constituency)	The District of Bromsgrove.
PART II	
Chingford and Woodford Green (borough constituency)	(i) The Church End and Monkhams wards of the London borough of Redbridge; and
	(ii) the following wards of the London borough of Waltham Forest, namely, Chingford Green, Endlebury, Hale End, Hatch Lane, Larkswood and Valley.
Epping Forest (county constituency)	The following wards of the District of Epping Forest, namely, Broadway, Buckhurst Hill East, Buckhurst Hill West, Chigwell Row, Chigwell Village, Debden Green, Epping Hemnall, Epping Lindsey, Grange Hill, High Beach, Loughton Forest, Loughton Roding, Loughton St. John's, Loughton St. Mary's, North Weald Bassett, Paternoster, Theydon Bois, Waltham Abbey East and Waltham Abbey West.
Ilford North (borough constituency)	The following wards of the London borough of Redbridge, namely, Aldborough, Barkingside, Bridge, Clayhall, Fairlop, Fullwell, Hainault and Roding.
Leyton and Wanstead (borough constituency)	(i) The Snaresbrook and Wanstead wards of the London borough of Redbridge; and
	(ii) the following wards of the London borough of Waltham Forest, namely, Cann Hall, Cathall, Forest, Grove Green, Leyton and Leytonstone.
Walthamstow (borough constituency)	The following wards of the London borough of Waltham Forest, namely, Chapel End, Higham Hill, High Street, Hoe Street, Lea Bridge, Lloyd Park, St. James Street and Wood Street.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect without modification to the recommendations contained in the report of the Boundary Commission for England dated 17th May 1996. The report contains proposals for changes to the areas of certain parliamentary constituencies where local government area changes which took effect after 1st June 1994 resulted in inconsistencies between local government boundaries and the parliamentary constituencies constituted by the Parliamentary Constituencies (England) Order 1995.

By virtue of section 4(6) of the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986, the coming into force of this Order does not affect any parliamentary election until a proclamation is issued by Her Majesty summoning a new Parliament.