#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 1996 No. 1790

## **PENSIONS**

The War Pensions Committees (Amendment) Regulations 1996

Made - - - - 8th July 1996 Laid before Parliament 15th July 1996

Coming into force in accordance with Regulation 1

The Secretary of State for Social Security in exercise of powers conferred by sections 25(1) and 29(1) of the Social Security Act 1989(1) and section 175(3) of the Social Security Contributions and Benefits Act 1992(2) and all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Regulations:

### Citation and commencement

- **1.** These Regulations may be cited as the War Pensions Committees (Amendment) Regulations 1996, and shall come into force
  - (a) for the purposes of paragraphs (5), (7) and (10) of Regulation 2, and paragraph (1) of that Regulation so far as it relates to those paragraphs, on 5th August 1996; and
  - (b) for all other purposes on 1st April 1997.

## Amendment of the War Pensions Committees Regulations 1990

- **2.**—(1) Schedule 1 to the War Pensions Committees Regulations 1990(3) shall be amended in accordance with the following paragraphs of this Regulation.
- (2) In the entry relating to the Central Southern England War Pensions Committee, in the second column, after the words "Isle of Wight" there shall be inserted the words "Portsmouth, Southampton" (4).
- (3) In the entry relating to the Chilterns War Pensions Committee, in the second column, after "Hertfordshire" there shall be inserted the words "Luton(5), Milton Keynes(6)".

<sup>(1) 1989</sup> c. 24; section 29(1) was amended by paragraph 106 of Schedule 2 to the Social Security (Consequential Provisions) Act 1992.

<sup>(2) 1992</sup> c. 4.

<sup>(3)</sup> S.I.1990/1349: Schedule 1 was replaced by S.I. 1995/3119.

<sup>(4)</sup> Portsmouth and Southampton cease to form part of Hampshire and become separate counties on 1st April 1997 by virtue of S.I. 1995/1775.

<sup>(5)</sup> Luton ceases to form part of Bedfordshire and becomes a separate county on 1st April 1997 by virtue of S.I. 1995/1776.

<sup>(6)</sup> Milton Keynes ceases to form part of Buckinghamshire and becomes a separate county on 1st April 1997 by virtue of S.I. 1995/1769.

- (4) In the entry relating to the Derbyshire, Leicestershire and Staffordshire War Pensions Committee, in the second column, for the words "Derbyshire, Leicestershire and Staffordshire", there shall be substituted the words "Derby,(7) Derbyshire, Leicester,(8) Leicestershire, Rutland, Staffordshire and Stoke on Trent(9)."
- (5) In the entry relating to the Essex War Pensions Committee, in the second column, for the word "Havering" there shall be substituted the words "Dagenham, Havering, Newham".
- (6) In the entry relating to the Northumbria War Pensions Committee, after "of" there shall be inserted the word "Darlington," (10).
- (7) In the entry relating to the South West Midlands War Pensions Committee, after "Shropshire" there shall be inserted the words "and the metropolitan boroughs of Dudley, Sandwell, Walsall and Wolverhampton".
- (8) In the entry relating to the Sussex War Pensions Committee, in the second column, after "Sussex" there shall be inserted the words "and Brighton and Hove" (11).
- (9) In the entry relating to the West of England War Pensions Committee, for the words in the second column there shall be substituted the words "the counties of Bath and North East Somerset, Bournemouth(12), the City of Bristol, Dorset, Gloucestershire, North West Somerset, Poole, South Gloucestershire, Thamesdown(13) and Wiltshire.".
- (10) For the entry relating to the West Midlands, Warwickshire and Northamptonshire War Pensions Committee there shall be substituted the following entry—

"West Midlands, Northamptonshire and Warwickshire War Pensions Committee	The counties of Northamptonshire and Warwickshire, the Cities of Birmingham and Coventry and the metropolitan borough of Solihull."
	Somun

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Social Security.

MacKay of Ardbrecknish
Minister of State,
Department of Social Security

8th July 1996

<sup>(7)</sup> Derby ceases to form part of Derbyshire, and becomes a separate county on 1st April 1997 by virtue of S.I. 1995/1773.

<sup>(8)</sup> Leicester and Rutland cease to form part of Leicestershire and become separate counties on 1st April 1997 by virtue of S.I. 1996/507.

<sup>(9)</sup> Stoke on Trent ceases to form part of Staffordshire and becomes a separate county on 1st April 1997 by virtue of S.I. 1995/1779.

<sup>(10)</sup> Darlington ceases to form part of Durham and becomes a separate county on 1st April 1997 by virtue of S.I. 1995/1772.

<sup>(11)</sup> Brighton and Hove ceases to form part of East Sussex and becomes a separate county on 1st April 1997 by virtue of S.I.

<sup>(12)</sup> Bournemouth and Poole both cease to form part of Dorset and are united to become a separate county on 1st April 1997 by virtue of S.I. 1995/1771.

<sup>(13)</sup> Thamesdown ceases to form part of Wiltshire and becomes a separate county on 1st April 1997 by virtue of S.I. 1995/1774.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Regulations)

These Regulations make further provision for the constitution of War Pensions Committees as a result of the further changes to the structure of local government in England coming into effect in 1997. They also adjust the areas of the Committees which cover the West Midlands, and change the name of the West Midlands, Warwickshire and Northamptonshire Committee.

These Regulations do not impose any costs on business.