1996 No. 1616

LAND DRAINAGE

The Severn-Trent Regional Flood Defence Committee Order 1996

Made	-	-	-	-		18th June 1996
Coming	into	force		-	-	24th June 1996

Whereas the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food considers-

- (a) it is necessary or expedient to make an order under section 16(5) of the Environment Act 1995(1) in relation to the regional flood defence committee specified in Article 1 of this Order;
- (b) it is inappropriate that any council in relation to which an entry "none" appears in column 2 of the Schedule to this Order should appoint a member of the committee; and
- (c) that one member of the committee should be appointed jointly by those councils in relation to which an entry "one jointly" appears in column 2 of the Schedule to this Order.

Now, therefore, the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, in exercise of the powers conferred on him(2) by section 16(5) and (8) of the Environment Act 1995 and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf hereby makes the following Order:

Title, commencement and interpretation

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Severn-Trent Regional Flood Defence Committee Order 1996 and shall come into force on 24th June 1996.

(2) In this Order "the committee" means the Severn-Trent Regional Flood Defence Committee, being the regional flood defence committee established by section 14 of the Environment Act 1995 for which the councils specified in the Schedule to this Order are the constituent councils.

Number of members of the committee to be appointed by each constituent council

2.—(1) The number of members to be appointed to the committee by the council or councils of any county($\mathbf{3}$) or metropolitan district specified in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order shall be the number specified in the corresponding entry in column 2 of that Schedule.

⁽**1**) 1995 c. 25.

⁽²⁾ Section 15(7) defines "the relevant Minister" and section 56(1) defines "the Minister"

⁽³⁾ In accordance with regulation 5(6) of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994 (S.I.1994/867), references to a county council include a district council to which county functions have been transferred pursuant to a structural change.

(2) Where more than one council is specified in any entry in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, any appointment made to the committee by those councils shall be made jointly.

Revocation

3. The Severn-Trent Water Authority (Regional Land Drainage Committee) Order 1988(4) is revoked.

Tim Boswell Parliamentary Secretary Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food

18th June 1996

SCHEDULE

Article 2

NUMBER OF MEMBERS OF COMMITTEE TO BE APPOINTED BY EACH CONSTITUENT COUNCIL OR GROUP OF COUNCILS

(1)	(2)
Constituent Councils	Number of Members(5)
Birmingham	One
Bristol	None
Clwyd	None
Coventry, Solihull	One jointly
Doncaster, North Lincolnshire, Rotherham	One jointly
Derbyshire	One
Dudley, Sandwell, Walsall, Wolverhampton	One jointly
East Riding of Yorkshire	None
Gloucestershire, South Gloucestershire	One jointly
Hereford and Worcestershire, Warwickshire	One jointly
Leicestershire	One
Lincolnshire	None
Northamptonshire	None
Nottinghamshire	One
Oxfordshire	None
Powys, Shropshire	One jointly
Sheffield	None
Staffordshire	One

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order specifies the number of members of the regional flood defence committee known as the Severn-Trent Regional Flood Defence Committee who are to be appointed by each constituent council or group of councils. The order takes account of changes in local government responsibilities which took effect on 1st April 1996. Regional flood defence committees of the Environment Agency

⁽⁵⁾ In accordance with section 16(7) of the Environment Act 1995, this order has been so framed that the total number of members appointed under section 15(1)(a) and (b) of the Act is one less than the number of those appointed by or on behalf of constituent councils.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

were established by section 14 of the Environment Act 1995, replacing committees of the National Rivers Authority. The corresponding order for the former committee is revoked.