#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 1996 No. 146

# NATIONAL HEALTH SERVICE ENGLAND AND WALES

## **WALES**

The Health Authorities (Wales) Establishment Order 1996

Made - - - - 28th January 1996
Laid before Parliament 31st January 1996
Coming into force - - 1st April 1996

The Secretary of State for Wales, in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by sections 8 and 126(4) and (5) of the National Health Service Act 1977(1), section 25(1) and (2) of the Welsh Language Act 1993(2) and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:—

#### Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Health Authorities (Wales) Establishment Order 1996 and shall come into force on 1st April 1996.

#### **Establishment of Health Authorities in Wales**

- 2.—(1) There shall be five Health Authorities in Wales, each of which shall be known, in addition to the title "Health Authority", by the name specified in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, such name appearing to the Secretary of State appropriately to signify the connection of the Health Authority with the area for which the authority is to act.
- (2) Each such Health Authority shall act for the area specified in column 2 of the Schedule to this Order opposite to its name in column 1.
- (3) Each such Health Authority shall have the title in Welsh of "Awdurdod Iechyd" and be known in Welsh by the name immediately after the English name in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order.

<sup>(1) 1977</sup> c. 49; section 8 is substituted by section 1(1) of the Health Authorities Act 1995 (c. 17). Section 126(4) is amended by section 65(2) of the National Health Service and Community Care Act 1990 (c. 19) "(the 1990 Act)". Section 126(5) is added by section 65(2) of the 1990 Act.

<sup>(2) 1993</sup> c. 38.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

28th January 1996

William Hague Secretary of State for Wales SCHEDULE Article 2

### HEALTH AUTHORITIES IN WALES

(1)	(2)
Name of Health Authority	Area for which Health Authority is to act
Bro Taf Bro Taf	The County of Cardiff together with the County Boroughs of Merthyr Tydfil, Rhondda, Cynon, Taff and the Vale of Glamorgan.
Dyfed Powys Dyfed Powys	The Counties of Cardiganshire, Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire and Powys.
Gwent Gwent	The County of Monmouthshire together with the County Boroughs of Blaenau Gwent, Caerphilly, Newport and Torfaen.
Morgannwg Morgannwg	The County of Swansea together with the County Boroughs of Bridgend, and Neath and Port Talbot.
North Wales Gogledd Cymru	The Counties of Anglesey, Caernarfonshire and Merionethshire, Denbighshire and Flintshire together with the County Boroughs of Aberconwy and Colwyn, and Wrexham.

## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

The Health Authorities Act 1995 imposes a duty upon the Secretary of State by order to establish Health Authorities throughout England and Wales with effect from 1st April 1996. This Order establishes five Authorities in Wales, namely, Bro Taf Health Authority, Dyfed Powys Health Authority, Gwent Health Authority, Morgannwg Health Authority and North Wales Health Authority, and specifies the areas for which the Authorities are to act comprises the whole of Wales. In addition, utilising powers in the Welsh Language Act 1993, the Order gives Welsh names to the new Authorities.