STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1996 No. 1338

LIBRARIES

The Public Lending Right Scheme 1982 (Commencement of Variations) Order 1996

Made - - - - 16th May 1996

Laid before Parliament 23rd May 1996

Coming into force - - 14th June 1996

Whereas the Public Lending Right Scheme 1982(1) ("the Scheme") was brought into force on 14th June 1982;

Whereas the Scheme has been varied(2);

And whereas the Secretary of State has, after consultation with the representatives of authors and library authorities and of others who appear likely to be affected, further varied the Scheme;

Now therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred by section 3(7) of the Public Lending Right Act 1979(3) and now vested in her(4), hereby makes the following Order:—

- **1.** This Order may be cited as the Public Lending Right Scheme 1982 (Commencement of Variations) Order 1996.
- **2.** The variations in the Public Lending Right Scheme 1982 which were made on 16th May 1996 by the Secretary of State and are set out in the Appendix to this Order shall come into force on 14th June 1996.

16th May 1996

Iain Sproat
Minister of State for National Heritage

¹⁾ The Scheme is set out in the Appendix to S.I.1982/719.

⁽²⁾ The Scheme as varied is set out in Appendix 2 to S.I. 1990/2360 subject to the further variations brought into force by S.I. 1991/2618, 1992/3049, 1993/3049.

^{(3) 1979} c. 10

⁽⁴⁾ S.I. 1979/907, 1981/207, 1983/879, 1984/1814, 1986/600, 1992/1311.

APPENDIX

VARIATIONS IN THE PUBLIC LENDING RIGHT SCHEME 1982 MADE BY THE SECRETARY OF STATE ON 16th MAY 1996

- 1. Article 38(2) of the Public Lending Right Scheme 1982 ("the Scheme") shall be varied:—
 - (a) by substituting for sub-paragraph (c) the following sub-paragraph:—
 - "(c) at all times one of the 3 operative sampling points falling within Group F in Schedule 2 shall be within one of the following principal areas: Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire, Ceredigion, Isle of Anglesey, Gwynedd, Conwy, Denbighshire or Powys;";
 - (b) in sub-paragraph (d) by substituting the word "Cities" for the words "Metropolitan Districts";
 - (c) in sub-paragraph (e) by substituting for every word from and including "the" on the second line up to and including "Clwyd" the words:—
 - "a principal area specified in sub-paragraph (c) above."
- **2.** Article 39 of the Scheme shall be varied by substituting "38(5)(a)" for the cross-reference to "38(6)(a)".
- **3.** Article 40(1) of the Scheme shall be varied by substituting "38(5)(a)" for the cross-reference to "38(6)(a)".
 - **4.** Schedule 2 to the Scheme shall be varied by:—
 - (a) substituting the words "districts or, as the case may be," for the words "non-metropolitan" under each of the headings Group A, Group B and Group C.
 - (b) deleting the words "Avon", "Humberside" and "Cleveland";
 - (c) adding to Group B, in the appropriate alphabetical positions, the following areas:—
 - "Bath and North East Somerset"
 - "City of Bristol"
 - "North Somerset"
 - "South Gloucestershire";
 - (d) adding to Group C, in the appropriate alphabetical positions, the following areas:—
 - "City of Kingston upon Hull"
 - "East Riding of Yorkshire"
 - "Hartlepool"
 - "Middlesbrough"
 - "North East Lincolnshire"
 - "North Lincolnshire"
 - "Redcar and Cleveland"
 - "Stockton-on-Tees"
 - "York".

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

With effect from 1st April 1996 certain changes were made to local Government in England, Scotland and Wales. This Order brings into force on 14th June 1996 variations to the Public Lending Right Scheme (the "Scheme") made to take account of those changes and to effect certain other matters. The principal changes to the Scheme were effected by:

- (1) amending Articles 38(2)(c) and (e) by including the principal area of Powys; and by deleting the previous references to certain counties and districts and substituting new principal areas;
 - (2) referring in Article 38(2)(d) to the Cities of Edinburgh and Glasgow; and
- (3) adding to Groups B and C in Schedule 2 the new county and district area of York and those county and district areas which on 1st April 1996 replaced Avon, Cleveland and Humberside.