STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1995 No. 610

The North Yorkshire (District of York) (Structural and Boundary Changes) Order 1995

PART II

THE NEW DISTRICT AND COUNTY OF YORK

Constitution of new district of York

3. A new district of York shall be constituted and shall comprise the existing local government areas shown in column (2) of the following Table—

TABLE

(1)	(2)
	The city of York(1)
The borough of Harrogate	The parishes of Hessay, Nether Poppleton, Rufforth and Upper Poppleton
The district of Ryedale	The parishes of Clifton Without, Earswick, Haxby, Heworth Without, Holtby, Huntington, Murton, New Earswick, Osbaldwick, Rawcliffe, Skelton, Stockton-on-the-Forest, Strensall, Towthorpe and Wigginton
The district of Selby	The parishes of Acaster Malbis, Askham Bryan, Askham Richard, Bishopthorpe, Copmanthorpe, Deighton, Dunnington, Elvington, Fulford, Heslington, Kexby, Naburn and Wheldrake

Constitution of new county of York

- **4.**—(1) A new county of York shall be constituted and shall comprise the existing local government areas shown in column (2) of the Table in article 3.
- (2) Section 2(1) of the 1972 Act (which provides that every county shall have a council) shall not apply in relation to the county of York.

Existing local government areas

5.—(1) The new district of York shall cease to form part of North Yorkshire.

⁽¹⁾ The existing non-metropolitan district of York has the status of a city.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

- (2) The existing city of York shall be abolished and the council of that city shall be wound up and dissolved.
- (3) The parishes shown in column (2) of the Table in article 3 shall cease to form part of the corresponding district shown in column (1) of that Table.