STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1995 No. 3002 (S.216)

TOWN AND COUNTRY PLANNING, SCOTLAND

The Designation of Structure Plan Areas (Scotland) Order 1995

Made - - - - 16th November 1995 22nd November Laid before Parliament 1995 Coming into force - - 1st April 1996

The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 4A of the Town and Country Planning (Scotland) Act 1972(1) and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Designation of Structure Plan Areas (Scotland) Order 1995 and shall come into force on 1st April 1996.

Designation of structure plan areas

2. The areas specified in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, being the districts of the planning authorities specified in the related entry in column 2 of that Schedule, are designated as areas in respect of which planning authorities are to prepare structure plans.

St. Andrew's House, Edinburgh 16th November 1995 George Kynoch
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Scottish
Office

SCHEDULE Article 2

DESIGNATION OF STRUCTURE PLAN AREAS

Column 1	Column 2
Structure Plan Area	Planning authorities
Shetland Islands	Shetland Islands Council
Orkney Islands	Orkney Islands Council
Western Isles	Western Isles Council
Highland	Highland Council
Moray	Moray Council
Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire	Aberdeen City, and Aberdeenshire Councils
Dundee and Angus	Angus, and Dundee City Councils
Perthshire and Kinross	Perthshire and Kinross Council
Stirling and Clackmannan	Clackmannanshire, and Stirling Councils
Falkirk	Falkirk Council
Fife	Fife Council
Edinburgh and the Lothians	City of Edinburgh, East Lothian, Midlothian, and West Lothian Councils
Scottish Borders	Scottish Borders Council
Dumfries and Galloway	Dumfries and Galloway Council
Ayrshire	East Ayrshire, North Ayrshire, and South Ayrshire Councils
Glasgow and the Clyde Valley	Dumbarton and Clydebank, East Dunbartonshire, City of Glasgow, Inverclyde, North Lanarkshire, South Lanarkshire, East Renfrewshire, and Renfrewshire Councils
Argyll and Bute	Argyll and Bute Council

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

As a result of local government reorganisation in Scotland, the functions of preparation and maintenance of structure plans fall on the new unitary authorities.

Section 33 of the Local Government etc. (Scotland) Act 1994 (c. 39) inserts section 4A of the Town and Country Planning (Scotland) Act 1972 enabling the Secretary of State to designate structure plan areas including areas wider than the area of a single new unitary authority.

Document Generated: 2023-06-27

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

This order divides Scotland into 17 structure plan areas for the purposes of those functions.