Search Legislation

The Local Government Changes for England (Miscellaneous Provision) Regulations 1995

What Version

 Help about what version
  • Latest available (Revised)
  • Original (As made)

Opening Options

 Help about opening options


This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.


8.—(1) In the Sheriffs Act 1887(1)—

(a)in section 38 (definitions), after the word “requires” insert the following definition—

The expression “county”, in relation to England, means, subject to the provisions of Schedule 2A to this Act, a county for the purposes of the Local Government Act 1972;; and

(b)after Schedule 2 (declaration of sheriff and under sheriff), insert the following Schedule—

Section 38


For the purposes of this Act, the counties or parts of counties specified in column (2) of the following Table shall be deemed to form one county known by the name specified in respect of those counties or parts in column (1) of the Table—


DurhamDurham and Hartlepool and so much of the county of Stockton-on-Tees as lies north of the line for the time being of the centre of the River Tees
The East Riding of YorkshireThe East Riding of Yorkshire and Kingston upon Hull (City of)
GloucestershireGloucestershire and South Gloucestershire
LincolnshireLincolnshire, North Lincolnshire and North East Lincolnshire
North YorkshireNorth Yorkshire, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland and York and so much of the county of Stockton-on-Tees as lies south of the centre for the time being of the river Tees
SomersetSomerset, Bath and North East Somerset and North West Somerset(2)

(2) In section 219 of the Local Government Act 1972 (sheriffs and under-sheriffs), in subsection (8), after “section” insert ““county” has the same meaning as in the Sheriffs Act 1887 and”.


1887 c. 55; section 3(4) was added by section 62(1) of the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994 (c. 19) (the 1994 Act). The previous definition of county in section 38 was repealed by Schedule 30 to the Local Government Act 1972 (c. 70).


On 1st April 1996, the counties of Bath and North East Somerset, North West Somerset and South Gloucestershire are constituted, by S.I. 1995/493; the counties of the East Riding of Yorkshire, Kingston upon Hull, North Lincolnshire and North East Lincolnshire by S.I. 1995/600; the county of York by S.I. 1995/610 and the counties of Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland and Stockton-on-Tees by S.I. 1995/1747.

Back to top


Print Options


Legislation is available in different versions:

Latest Available (revised):The latest available updated version of the legislation incorporating changes made by subsequent legislation and applied by our editorial team. Changes we have not yet applied to the text, can be found in the ‘Changes to Legislation’ area.

Original (As Enacted or Made):The original version of the legislation as it stood when it was enacted or made. No changes have been applied to the text.


Opening Options

Different options to open legislation in order to view more content on screen at once


More Resources

Access essential accompanying documents and information for this legislation item from this tab. Dependent on the legislation item being viewed this may include:

  • the original print PDF of the as enacted version that was used for the print copy
  • lists of changes made by and/or affecting this legislation item
  • confers power and blanket amendment details
  • all formats of all associated documents
  • correction slips
  • links to related legislation and further information resources