STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1995 No. 151

REPRESENTATION OF THE PEOPLE

The Returning Officers (Principal Areas: Wales) Order 1995

Made - - - - 24th January 1995 Coming into force - - 31st January 1995

The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by paragraph 3(1) of Schedule 5 to the Local Government Act 1972(1), hereby makes the following Order:

- **1.** This Order may be cited as the Returning Officers (Principal Areas: Wales) Order 1995 and shall come into force on 31st January 1995.
- 2. At the first elections of councillors for each new principal area in Wales, the returning officer shall be an officer of the council appointed by the existing council designated in column 2 of the Schedule to this Order opposite to the designation in column 1 thereof of the new principal area concerned.

Home Office 24th January 1995 Blatch Minister of State

SCHEDULE

EXISTING COUNCILS TO APPOINT RETURNING OFFICERS AT FIRST ELECTIONS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW PRINCIPAL AREAS

(1) New principal area	(2) Appointing Council
County Borough of Aberconwy and Colwyn	Colwyn Borough Council
County of Anglesey	Ynys Môn—Isle of Anglesey Borough Council
County Borough of Blaenau Gwent	Blaenau Gwent Borough Council
County Borough of Bridgend	Ogwr Borough Council
County of Caernarfonshire and Merionethshire	Arfon Borough Council
County Borough of Caerphilly	Islwyn Borough Council
County of Cardiff	Cardiff City Council
County of Cardiganshire	Cyngor Dosbarth Ceredigion
County of Carmarthenshire	Llanelli Borough Council
County of Denbighshire	Rhuddlan Borough Council
County of Flintshire	Alyn and Deeside District Council
County Borough of Merthyr Tydfil	Merthyr Tydfil Borough Council
County of Monmouthshire	Monmouth Borough Council
County Borough of Neath and Port Talbot	Neath Borough Council
County Borough of Newport	Newport Borough Council
County of Pembrokeshire	Preseli Pembrokeshire District Council
County of Powys	Montgomeryshire District Council
County Borough of Rhondda, Cynon, Taff	on Valley Borough Council
County of Swansea	Swansea City Council
County Borough of Torfaen	Torfaen Borough Council
County Borough of the Vale of Glamorgan	Vale of Glamorgan Borough Council
County Borough of Wrexham	Wrexham Maelor Borough Council

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order designates, for the purposes of the first elections of councillors for the new principal areas in Wales established under the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994, the existing councils which are to appoint the returning officer for each such area.

By virtue of the Welsh Principal Councils (Day of Election) Order 1994 (S.I.1994/2843), the first elections of councillors of the new principal councils in Wales will be held on 4th May 1995.