### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 1994 No. 969

### **PROBATION**

## The Combined Probation Areas (Lancashire) Order 1994

Made - - - - 29th March 1994

Coming into force - - 1st April 1994

In exercise of the powers conferred upon me by section 2 of the Probation Service Act 1993(1), and after the consultation required by that section, I hereby make the following Order:

- **1.** This Order may be cited as the Combined Probation Areas (Lancashire) Order 1994 and shall come into force on 1st April 1994.
- **2.** That part of Schedule 2 to the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986(**2**) which relates to the Lancashire Probation Area shall be amended by
  - (a) omitting the entries in respect of the petty sessions areas of Blackburn, Burnley, Darwen, Pendle and Ribble Valley;
  - (b) inserting, in alphabetical order
    - (i) in column 1 "Blackburn, Darwen and Ribble Valley" and corresponding to this in column 3— "2";
    - (ii) in column 1 "Burnley and Pendle" and corresponding to this in column 3—"2"; and
  - (c) substituting in column 3 "2" for "3" in the entries in respect of the petty sessions areas of Blackpool, Hyndburn, Lancaster, Ormskirk, Preston, South Ribble and Wyre.
- **3.** The seven members of the Lancashire Probation Committee appointed before 1st April 1994 by the justices for the petty sessions areas of Blackburn, Darwen and Ribble Valley shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which two of them shall continue in office as if appointed by the justices for the new petty sessions area of Blackburn, Darwen and Ribble Valley(3).
- **4.** The six members of the Lancashire Probation Committee appointed before 1st April 1994 by the justices for the petty sessions areas of Burnley and Pendle shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which two of them shall continue in office as if appointed by the justices for the new petty sessions area of Burnley and Pendle(4).

<sup>(1) 1993</sup> c. 47.

<sup>(2)</sup> S. I. 1986/1713, amended by S. I. 1992/2121 (which is amended by S. I. 1993/92) and 1993/716.

<sup>(3)</sup> The part relating to Lancashire was amended by S. I. 1987/1855 and 1989/2240.

<sup>(4)</sup> The petty sessions areas of Blackburn, Darwen and Ribble Valley and Burnley and Pendle were constituted by the Petty Sessional Divisions (Lancashire) Order 1994 (S. I.1994/946).

- 5. The three members of the Lancashire Probation Committee appointed before 1st April 1994 by the justices for the petty sessions area of Lancaster shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which two of them shall continue in office after that date.
- **6.** The three members of the Lancashire Probation Committee appointed before 1st April 1994 by the justices for the petty sessions area of Preston shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which two of them shall continue in office after that date.
- 7. The three members of the Lancashire Probation Committee appointed before 1st April 1994 by the justices for the petty sessions area of Wyre shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which two of them shall continue in office after that date.
- **8.** The three members of the Lancashire Probation Committee appointed before 1st April 1994 by the justices for the petty sessions area of Blackpool shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which two of them shall continue in office after that date.
- **9.** The three members of the Lancashire Probation Committee appointed before 1st April 1994 by the justices for the petty sessions area of Hyndburn shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which two of them shall continue in office after that date.
- 10. The three members of the Lancashire Probation Committee appointed before 1st April 1994 by the justices for the petty sessions area of Ormskirk shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which two of them shall continue in office after that date.
- 11. The three members of the Lancashire Probation Committee appointed before 1st April 1994 by the justices for the petty sessions area of South Ribble shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which two of them shall continue in office after that date.

Home Office 29th March 1994 Michael Howard
One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of
State

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986 to take account of the re-organisation of five of the petty sessions areas within the Lancashire Probation Area into two new petty sessions areas effected by the Petty Sessional Divisions (Lancashire) Order 1994 (S. I.1994/946), the relevant provisions of which come into force on 1st April 1994.

The Order also amends the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986 so as to change the number of justices appointed to the Lancashire Probation Committee by seven of the petty sessions areas-Blackpool, Hyndburn, Lancaster, Ormskirk, Preston, South Ribble and Wyre will each appoint two justices rather than three.