STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1993 No. 943

RIGHTS IN PERFORMANCES

The Performances (Reciprocal Protection) (Convention Countries) Order 1993

Made - - - - 31st March 1993
Laid before Parliament 13th April 1993
Coming into force - 4th May 1993

At the Court at Buckingham Palace, the 31st day of March 1993 Present,

The Queen's Most Excellent Majesty in Council

Her Majesty, by virtue of the authority conferred upon Her by section 208(1)(a) of the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988(1), is pleased, by and with the advice of Her Privy Council, to order, and it is hereby ordered, as follows:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Performances (Reciprocal Protection) (Convention Countries) Order 1993 and shall come into force on 4th May 1993.
- **2.** The following countries are hereby designated as enjoying reciprocal protection under Part II of the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988 (rights in performances)—

Argentina

Australia

Austria

Barbados

Brazil

Burkina Faso

Chile

Colombia

Congo

Costa Rica

Czechoslovakia

Denmark (including Greenland and the Faeroe Islands)

Dominican Republic

Ecuador

El Salvador
Fiji
Finland
France (including all Overseas Departments and Territories)
Germany
Greece
Guatemala
Honduras
Ireland, Republic of
Italy
Japan
Lesotho
Luxembourg
Mexico
Monaco
Niger
Norway
Panama
Paraguay
Peru
Philippines
Spain
Sweden
Uruguay.
3. The Performances (Reciprocal Protection) (Convention Countries) (No. 2) Order 1989(2) is hereby revoked.
N. H. Nicholls
Clerk of the Privy Council

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

The Performances (Reciprocal Protection) (Convention Countries) (No. 2) Order 1989 designated certain countries, all parties to the International Convention for the Protection of Performers, Producers of Phonograms and Broadcasting Organisations (the Rome Convention) (Cmnd. 2425), as enjoying reciprocal protection under the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988 relating to rights in performances. Since that Order was made, Argentina, Australia, Greece, Honduras, Japan, Lesotho and Spain also have become parties to the Rome Convention.

This Order revokes and replaces that Order-

- (a) to include those countries in the list of designated countries; and
- (b) to modify the entries relating to-
 - (i) the Federal Republic of Germany following the unification thereof with the German Democratic Republic; and
 - (ii) Denmark so as to include Greenland as part of that country.