STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1993 No. 492

The Hereford and Worcester, Staffordshire and West Midlands (County and Metropolitan Borough Boundaries) Order 1993

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"district" includes a metropolitan borough and a city;

"electoral division" means an electoral division of the county to which an area is transferred by this Order(1);

"Hereford and Worcester" means the county of Hereford and Worcester, and any reference to Bromsgrove is a reference to the district of that name in that county;

"the map" means one or more of the 33 maps prepared by the Department of the Environment, marked "Maps of the Hereford and Worcester, Staffordshire and West Midlands (County and Metropolitan Borough Boundaries) Order 1993", duly numbered for reference, and deposited in accordance with regulation 5 of the Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976;

"Staffordshire" means the county of Staffordshire, except in the expression "South Staffordshire", where it means the Staffordshire district of that name, and any reference to Lichfield is a reference to the Staffordshire district of Lichfield;

any reference to an area as unparished is a reference to that area not forming part of any parish;

"ward" means a ward of the district from or to which an area is transferred(2), except in the expression "parish ward", where it means a ward of the parish to which an area is transferred; and

"West Midlands" means the metropolitan county of West Midlands, any reference to Birmingham, to Dudley, to Walsall or to Wolverhampton is a reference to the West Midlands district of that name, and any reference to Sandwell is a reference to the West Midlands district of that name (except in column 3 of the Table in article 5(1) and column 4 of the Table in article 5(2), where it refers to the Birmingham ward of that name).

⁽¹⁾ Every non-metropolitan county is divided into electoral divisions for the purposes of the election of county councillors (section 6(2)(a) of the Local Government Act 1972).

⁽²⁾ Every district (whether metropolitan or non-metropolitan) is divided into wards for the purposes of the election of district councillors (section 6(2)(b) and (c) of the Local Government Act 1972.