## STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 1992 No. 282

## LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

## The Borough of Basingstoke and Deane (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1992

Made - - - 18th February 1992 coming into force in accordance with article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(1), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 11th October 1991 submitted to me proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the Borough of Basingstoke and Deane;

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of that Act, I hereby make the following Order:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Borough of Basingstoke and Deane (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1992.
- **2.** This Order shall come into force on 7th May 1992 except that, for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day, it shall come into force forthwith.
- **3.**—(1) The map referred to in this Order is the map marked "MAP REFERRED TO IN THE BOROUGH OF BASINGSTOKE AND DEANE (ELECTORAL ARRANGEMENTS) ORDER 1992" and deposited with the Secretary of State.
- (2) Copies of the map marked "COPY OF THE MAP REFERRED TO IN THE BOROUGH OF BASINGSTOKE AND DEANE (ELECTORAL ARRANGEMENTS) ORDER 1992" shall be deposited with the Council of the Borough of Basingstoke and Deane and with the Director General of the Ordnance Survey and such copies shall, at all reasonable times, be open to inspection by any person.
- (3) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway, or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line thereof.
- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the Borough of Basingstoke and Deane shall be abolished and that Borough shall be divided into twenty-five wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1

of Schedule 1 to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward, and demarcated by red lines thereon.

- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward constituted by this Order shall be the number specified in column 2 of Schedule 1 to this Order opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.
  - 5. Subject to the provisions of article 6 below, the elections of councillors shall be by thirds.
- **6.**—(1) The whole number of councillors for the Borough shall be elected at the ordinary elections of councillors in 1992.
- (2) The order of retirement of councillors for the Borough elected in 1992 shall be as set out in Schedule 2 to this Order.
  - (3) Where the number of councillors elected in 1992 for any ward of the Borough is three:—
    - (a) one shall retire in 1994 being, subject to paragraphs (7) and (8) below, the councillor elected by the smallest number of votes;
    - (b) one shall retire in 1995 being, subject as aforesaid, the councillor elected by the next smallest number of votes; and
    - (c) the remaining councillor shall retire in 1996.
  - (4) Of the two councillors elected in 1992 for the Brookvale and Grove wards of the Borough:—
    - (a) one shall retire in 1994 being, subject to paragraphs (7) and (8) below, the councillor elected by the smaller number of votes; and
    - (b) the remaining councillor shall retire in 1996.
  - $(5) \ Of the two councillors elected in 1992 for the Buckskin and Whitchurch wards of the Borough:$ 
    - (a) one shall retire in 1994 being, subject to paragraphs (7) and (8) below, the councillor elected by the smaller number of votes; and
    - (b) the remaining councillor shall retire in 1995.
- (6) Of the two councillors elected in 1992 for the Baughurst and Heath End, Eastrop, Kingsclere and Overton and Laverstoke wards of the Borough:—
  - (a) one shall retire in 1995 being, subject to paragraphs (7) and (8) below, the councillor elected by the smaller number of votes; and
  - (b) the remaining councillor shall retire in 1996.
- (7) In the case of an equality of votes between any persons elected which makes it uncertain which of them is to retire in any such year, the person to retire in that year shall be determined by lot.
- (8) If an election of councillors for any ward is not contested, the person to retire in that year shall be determined by lot.
- (9) Where under this article any question is to be determined by lot, the lot shall be drawn at the next practicable meeting of the Council after the question has arisen, and the drawing shall be conducted under the direction of the person presiding at the meeting.
  - (10) In this article the "Borough" means the Borough of Basingstoke and Deane.
- 7.—(1) Except as otherwise provided below, no alteration shall be made to the ordinary year of election of councillors for any parish or ward of a parish situated in the Borough of Basingstoke and Deane.
- (2) Any parish councillor elected at the ordinary elections in 1991 for the Ashmansworth, East Woodhay, Highelere and Mary St. Bourne parishes shall retire in 1994.

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

- (3) Any parish councillor elected at the ordinary elections in 1992 for the Cliddesden, Ellisfield, Herriard and Upton Grey parishes shall retire in 1995.
- (4) Any parish councillors to whom this article applies shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in the year of retirement, and the newly elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.
- **8.** The registration officer shall make such rearrangement or adaptation of the register of local government electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into force of this order.

Home Office 18th February 1992 Kenneth Baker
One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of
State

SCHEDULE 1 Article 4

NAMES OF AND NUMBER OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

(1) Name of New Ward	(2) Number of Councillors
Basing	3
Baughurst and Heath End	2
Brighton Hill	3
Brookvale	2
Buckskin	2
Burghclere	1
Calleva	3
Chineham	3
Eastrop	2
East Woodhay	1
Grove	2
Hatch Warren	3
Highelere and Bourne	1
Kempshott	3
Kingsclere	2
Norden	3
Oakley and North Waltham	3
Overton and Laverstoke	2
Popley	3
Sherborne St. John	1
South Ham	3
Tadley	3
Upton Grey	1
Whitchurch	2
Winklebury	3

SCHEDULE 2 Article 6(2)
ORDER OF RETIREMENT OF COUNCILLORS

Name of Ward	Number of Councillors to retire in 1994	Number of Councillors to retire in 1995	Number of Councillors to retire in 1996
Basing	1	1	1
Baughurst and Heath End	0	1	1
Brighton Hill	1	1	1
Brookvale	1	0	1
Buckskin	1	1	0
Burghclere	1	0	0
Calleva	1	1	1
Chineham	1	1	1
Eastrop	0	1	1
East Woodhay	1	0	0
Grove	1	0	1
Hatch Warren	1	1	1
Highclere and Bourne	1	0	0
Kempshott	1	1	1
Kingsclere	0	1	1
Norden	1	1	1
Oakley and North Walsham	1	1	1
Overton and Laverstoke	0	1	1
Popley	1	1	1
Sherborne St. John	0	0	1
South Ham	1	1	1
Tadley	1	1	1
Upton Grey	0	1	0
Whitchurch	1	1	0
Winklebury	1	1	1