STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1991 No. 794

PROBATION

The Combined Probation Areas (Wiltshire) Order 1991

Made - - - - 20th March 1991 Coming into force - - 1st April 1991

In exercise of the powers conferred upon me by section 54(4) of, and paragraph 1 of Schedule 3 to, the Powers of Criminal Courts Act 1973(1), and after the consultation required by that paragraph, I hereby make the following Order:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Combined Probation Areas (Wiltshire) Order 1991 and shall come into force on 1st April 1991.
- **2.** Schedule 2 to the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986(**2**)shall be amended by substituting for the entry in respect of Wiltshire the following entry:

Column 1	Column 2	Column 3
Petty Sessions Area	Probation Area	Number of justices on probation committee
Kennet	Wiltshire	3
North Wiltshire		3
Salisbury		3
Swindon		3
West Wiltshire		3

- **3.** The four members of the Wiltshire Probation Committee appointed before 1st April 1991 by the justices for the petty sessional divisions of Devizes, Everley and Pewsey and Marlborough shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which three of them shall continue in office as if they had been appointed by the justices for the new petty sessional division of Kennet.
- **4.** The four members of the Wiltshire Probation Committee appointed before 1st April 1991 by the justices for the petty sessional divisions of Calne, Chippenham, Cricklade and Malmesbury shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which three of them shall continue in office as if they had been appointed by the justices for the new petty sessional division of North Wiltshire.

^{(1) 1973} c. 62

⁽²⁾ S.I. 1986/1713, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

- 5. The four members of the Wiltshire Probation Committee appointed before 1st April 1991 by the justices for the petty sessional divisions of Salisbury and Tisbury and Mere shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which three of them shall continue in office as if they had been appointed by the justices for the new petty sessional division of Salisbury.
- **6.** The six members of the Wiltshire Probation Committee appointed before 1st April 1991 by the justices for the petty sessional divisions of Bradford, Melksham, Trowbridge, Warminster, Westbury and Whorwellsdown shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which three of them shall continue in office as if they had been appointed by the justices for the new petty sessional division of West Wiltshire.

Home Office

Kenneth Baker
One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of
State

20th March 1991

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986 to take account of the reorganisation of petty sessional divisions in Wiltshire effected by the Petty Sessional Divisions (Wiltshire) Order 1990 (S.I.1991/586) which comes into force on 1st April 1991.