STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1991 No. 2919

PROBATION

The Combined Probation Areas (Norfolk) Order 1991

Made - - - - 19th December 1991
Coming into force - - 1st January 1992

In exercise of the powers conferred upon me by section 54(4) of, and paragraph 1 of Schedule 3 to, the Powers of Criminal Courts Act 1973(1), and after the consultation required by that paragraph, I hereby make the following Order:

- **1.** This Order may be cited as the Combined Probationa Areas (Norfolk) Order 1991 and shall come into force on 1st January 1992.
- **2.** Schedule 2 to the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986(**2**) shall be amended by substituting for the entry in respect of Norfolk the following entry—

(1) Petty Sessions Area	(2) Probation area	(3) Number of justices on probation committee
Central Norfolk	Norfolk	1
Great Yarmouth		2
North Norfolk		1
Norwich		4
South Norfolk		2
West Norfolk		3

3. The three members of the Norfolk Probation Committee appointed before 1st January 1992 by the justices for the petty sessions areas of East Dereham, Swaffham and Wymondham shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which one of them shall continue in office as if appointed by the justices for the new petty sessions area of Central Norfolk(3).

^{(1) 1973} c. 62.

⁽²⁾ S.I. 1986/1713, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

⁽³⁾ The new petty sessions areas referred to in articles 3, 5, 7 and 8 were constituted by the Petty Sessional Divisions (Norfolk) Order 1991 (S.I. 1991/2689).

- **4.** The three members of the Norfolk Probation Committee appointed before 1st January 1992 by the justices for the petty sessions area of Great Yarmouth shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which two of them shall continue in office.
- **5.** The three members of the Norfolk Probation Committee appointed before 1st January 1992 by the justices for the petty sessions areas of Cromer and North Walsham shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which one of them shall continue in office as if appointed by the justices for the new petty sessions area of North Norfolk.
- **6.** The six members of the Norfolk Probation Committee appointed before 1st January 1992 by the justices for the petty sessions area of Norwich shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which four of them shall continue in office.
- 7. The three members of the Norfolkj Probation Committee appointed before 1st January 1992 by the justices for the petty sessions areas of Diss and Thetford shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which two of them shall continue in office as if appointed by the justices for the new petty sessions area of South Norfolk.
- **8.** The six members of the Norfolk Probation Committee appointed before 1st January 1992 by the justices for the petty session areas of Downham Market, Fakenham, Hunstanton and Kings Lynn shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which three of them shall continue as if appointed by the justices for the new petty sessions area of West Norfolk.

Home Office 19th December 1991 Kenneth Baker
One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of
State

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986 to take account of the reorganisation of petty sessions areas in Norfolk effected by the Petty Sessional Divisions (Norfolk) Order 1991 (S.I.1991/2689) which comes into force on 1st January 1992.