EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order affects districts in the county of Devon. Areas are transferred between Mid Devon and West Devon, and between Torridge and West Devon. Consequential changes are made to the boundaries of parishes, local government electoral areas, petty sessional divisions, and coroners' districts.

The map forming part of this note (page 4) gives a general guide to the changes effected. Prints of the detailed maps described in article 2 may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of each of the district councils whose area is affected (Mid Devon, Wets Devon and Torridge), and also at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment located in 2, Marsham Street, London SW1P 3EB.

In approximate terms, the areas transferred by this Order have in total an area of 742 hectares and a population of 151.

The Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976 contain general provisions regarding the effect of orders such as the present one.

