STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1991 No. 2701

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

CHANGES IN LOCAL GOVERNMENT AREAS

The Mid Devon, Torridge and West Devon (District Boundaries) Order 1991

Made - - - - 29th November 1991

Laid before Parliament 6th December 1991

Coming into force—
for the purposes referred to in article 1(2) 27th December 1991

for all other purposes 1st April 1992

The Secretary of State, in exercise of his powers under sections 51(2) and 67(4) of the Local Government Act 1972(1) and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order, which gives effect to proposals submitted to him under sections 47 and 51(1) of that Act, more than six weeks before the making of this Order by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England:

Citation and commencement

- **1.**—(1) This Order may be cited as the Mid Devon, Torridge and West Devon (District Boundaries) Order 1991.
- (2) This Order shall come into force on 27th December 1991 for any purpose set out in regulation 4(1) of the Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976(2).
 - (3) For all other purposes, this Order shall come into force on 1st April 1992.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means one of the 7 maps prepared by the Department of the Environment, marked "Maps of the Mid Devon, Torridge and West Devon (District Boundaries) Order 1991",

^{(1) 1972} c. 70

⁽²⁾ S.I.1976/246, amended by S.I. 1978/247.

duly numbered for reference, and deposited in accordance with regulation 5 of the Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976;

"Mid Devon" means the district of Mid Devon, "Torridge" means the district of Torridge, and "West Devon" means the borough of West Devon;

any reference to an electoral division is a reference to an electoral division of the county of Devon; and

any reference to a ward is a reference to a ward of the borough or district to which an area is transferred, except in the expression "parish ward" where it means a ward of the parish to which an area is transferred.

Transfers between Mid Devon and West Devon

- **3.**—(1) The areas marked A11, A12 and A13 on maps 5, 6 and 7 shall be transferred from Mid Devon, and from the parish of Cheriton Bishop to—
 - (a) West Devon;
 - (b) the parish of Drewsteignton;
 - (c) the Drewsteignton ward, and the Hatherleigh and Chagford electoral division;
 - (d) the Okehampton petty sessional division; and
 - (e) the North and West Devon coroner's district.

The area marked A11 shall additionally be transferred to the Drewsteignton (Whiddon Down) parish ward, and the areas marked A12 and A13 to the Drew steignton parish ward.

- (2) The areas marked A7, A8, A9 and A10 on maps 5, 6 and 7 shall be transferred from West Devon, and from the parish of Drewsteignton to—
 - (a) Mid Devon;
 - (b) the parish of Cheriton Bishop;
 - (c) the Yeo ward, and the Crediton Rural electoral division;
 - (d) the Wonford petty sessional division; and
 - (e) the Exeter and East devon coroner's district.

Transfers from Torridge to West Devon

- **4.**—(1) The area marked A6 on map 4 shall be transferred from Torridge, and from the parish of Broadwoodwidger to—
 - (a) West Devon;
 - (b) the parish of Germansweek;
 - (c) the Bridestowe ward; and
 - (d) the Okehampton Rural electoral division.
 - (2) The following areas in Torridge—
 - (i) the part of the parish of Black Torrington marked A1 on map 1; and
 - (ii) the part of the parish of Petrockstow marked A2 on map 2—

shall be transferred to West Devon, to the parish of Highhampton, to the Hatherleigh ward, to the Hatherleigh and Chagford electoral division and to the Okehampton petty sessional division.

Transfers from West Devon to Torridge

- 5. The following areas of West Devon shown on map 3—
 - (i) the part of the parish of Beaworthy marked A5; and
 - (ii) the parts of the parish of Northlew marked A3 and A4—

shall be transferred to Torridge, to the parish of Halwill, to the Forest ward and to the Holsworthy Rural eletoral division.

Town and country planning

- **6.**—(1) In this article, "provision" means a provision of a development plan (as defined in section 336 of the Town and Country Planning Act 1990(3)).
- (2) Any provision applying to an area transferred by this Order shall continue to apply to that area, notwithstanding the transfer, until replaced by a provision which so applies, and which is expressed to supersede the preserved provision.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment.

Minister of State,
Department of the Environment

29th November 1991

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order affects districts in the county of Devon. Areas are transferred between Mid Devon and West Devon, and between Torridge and West Devon. Consequential changes are made to the boundaries of parishes, local government electoral areas, petty sessional divisions, and coroners' districts.

The map forming part of this note (page 4) gives a general guide to the changes effected. Prints of the detailed maps described in article 2 may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of each of the district councils whose area is affected (Mid Devon, Wets Devon and Torridge), and also at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment located in 2, Marsham Street, London SW1P 3EB.

In approximate terms, the areas transferred by this Order have in total an area of 742 hectares and a population of 151.

The Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976 contain general provisions regarding the effect of orders such as the present one.

