EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order-

- (a) changes the name of the Trustees of the Harbour of Montrose to "the Montrose Port Authority";
- (b) reconstitutes the Montrose Port Authority so as to consist of-
 - (i) a chairman and three other members appointed by the Secretary of State;
 - (ii) one member appointed by Tayside Regional Council;
 - (iii) one member appointed by Angus District Council;
 - (iv) one member appointed by Montrose Community Council;
 - (v) the chief executive officer of the Authority; and
 - (vi) at the discretion of the Authority up to two other members appointed by the Authority;
- (c) empowers the Authority to adopt as their financial year such period of twelve consecutive months as they think fit and provides for the annual appointment, and qualifications of the Authority's auditors;
- (d) contains provisions for licensing by the Authority of works below high water mark and dredging in the Harbour;
- (e) empowers the Authority to provide vessels and towage services and to acquire or dispose of certain businesses or shares and provides that the Authority shall not be responsible for the safety of goods deposited in any part of the harbour estate not specifically set apart by the Authority for the purpose of warehousing.