STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1990 No. 238

SECURITY SERVICE

The Security Service Act 1989 (Overseas Territories) Order 1990

Made - - - - 14th February 1990 Coming into force - - 7th March 1990

At the Court of Saint James, the 14th day of February 1990 Present,

The Counsellors of State in Council

Whereas Her Majesty in pursuance of the Regency Acts 1937 to 1953, was pleased, by Letters Patent dated the 18th day of January 1990, to delegate to the six Counsellors of State therein named or any two or more of them full power and authority during the period of Her Majesty's absence from the United Kingdom to summon and hold on Her Majesty's behalf Her Privy Council and to signify thereat Her Majesty's approval for anything for which Her Majesty's approval in Council is required: Now, therefore, Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother and His Royal Highness The Prince Charles, Prince of Wales, being authorised thereto by the said Letters Patent, and in pursuance of the powers conferred by section 7(4) of the Security Service Act 1989(1), and by and with the advice of Her Majesty's Privy Council, do on Her Majesty's behalf order, and it is hereby ordered, as follows:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Security Service Act 1989 (Overseas Territories) Order 1990 and shall come into force on 7th March 1990.
- **2.** Subsection (1) of section 3 of the Security Service Act 1989 shall extend to the colonies specified in the Schedule hereto as part of the law thereof.

G. I. de Deney Clerk of the Privy Council

SCHEDULE TO THE ORDER

Article 2

Anguilla

Bermuda

British Antarctic Territory

British Indian Ocean Territory

Cayman Islands

Falkland Islands

Gibraltar

Montserrat

Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands

St. Helena and Dependencies

South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands

The Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia

Turks and Caicos Islands

Virgin Islands

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order directs that section 3(1) (warrants) of the Security Service Act 1989 shall extend to the colonies specified in the Schedule hereto.