#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 1990 No. 159

## LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

### CHANGES IN LOCAL GOVERNMENT AREAS

# The Avon, Somerset and Wiltshire (County Boundaries) Order 1990

Made - - - - 1st February 1990

Laid before Parliament 14th February 1990

Coming into force

for the purposes referred to

in article 1(2) 7th March 1990

for all other purposes 1st April 1990

The Secretary of State, in exercise of his powers under sections 51(2) and 67(4) of the Local Government Act 1972(1) and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order which gives effect with modifications to proposals submitted to him under sections 47, 48(1) and 51(1) of that Act, more than six weeks before the making of this Order, by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England:

#### Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Avon, Somerset and Wiltshire (County Boundaries) Order 1990.
- (2) This Order shall come into force on 7th March 1990 for any purpose set out in regulation 4(1) (coming into operation of order) of the Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976(2).
  - (3) For all other purposes this Order shall come into force on 1st April 1990.

#### **Interpretation**

2. In this Order "boundary map" means one of the 8 maps prepared by the Department of the Environment, marked "Maps of the Avon, Somerset and Wiltshire (County Boundaries) Order

<sup>(1) 1972</sup> c. 70

<sup>(2)</sup> S.I. 1976/246, amended by S.I. 1978/247

1990", duly numbered for reference, and deposited in accordance with regulation 5 of the Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976.

#### **Transfers from Avon to Somerset**

- **3.**—(1) The part of the county of Avon, the district of Wansdyke and the parish of Wellow marked All on boundary map 8 shall be transferred to—
  - (a) the county of Somerset and the East Mendip electoral division of that county;
  - (b) the district of Mendip and the Nordinton ward of that district;
  - (c) the parish of Norton St. Philip;
  - (d) the Frome petty sessional division;
  - (e) the Eastern Somerset Coroner's district.
- (2) The part of the county of Avon, the district of Woodspring and the parish of Loxton marked A10 on boundary map 7 shall be transferred to—
  - (a) the county of Somerset and the Brent electoral division of that county;
  - (b) the district of Sedgemoor and the Axe Vale ward of that district;
  - (c) the parish of Compton Bishop;
  - (d) the Sedgemoor petty sessional division;
  - (e) the Western Somerset Coroner's district.

#### Transfers from Avon to Wiltshire

- **4.**—(1) The part of the county of Avon, the district of Northavon and the parish of Acton Turville marked A8 on boundary map 6 shall be transferred to—
  - (a) the county of Wiltshire and the Kington electoral division of that county;
  - (b) the district of North Wiltshire and the Nettleton ward of that district;
  - (c) the parish of Nettleton;
  - (d) the Chippenham petty sessional division;
  - (e) the Wiltshire Coroner's district.
- (2) The part of the county of Avon, the district of Northavon and the parish of Hawkesbury marked A2 on boundary map 2 shall be transferred to—
  - (a) the county of Wiltshire and the Malmesbury electoral division of that county;
  - (b) the district of North Wiltshire and the Sherston ward of that district;
  - (c) the parish of Luckington;
  - (d) the Malmesbury petty sessional division;
  - (e) the Wiltshire Coroner's district.

#### **Transfers from Somerset to Avon**

- **5.**—(1) The parts of the county of Somerset, the district of Mendip and the parish of Kilmersdon marked A4 and A5 on boundary maps 4 and 5 shall be transferred to—
  - (a) the county of Avon and the Radstock electoral division of that county;
  - (b) the district of Wansdyke and the Radstock ward of that district;
  - (c) the parish of Norton-Radstock and the Radstock ward of that parish;
  - (d) the Wansdyke petty sessional division;

- (e) the Avon Coroner's district.
- (2) The part of the county of Somerset, the district of Sedgemoor and the parish of Compton Bishop marked A9 on boundary map 7 shall be transferred to—
  - (a) the county of Avon and the Priory electoral division of that county;
  - (b) the district of Woodspring and the Winscombe ward of that district;
  - (c) the parish of Loxton;
  - (d) the Weston-Super-Mare petty sessional division;
  - (e) the Avon Coroner's district.

#### Transfers from Wiltshire to Avon

- **6.**—(1) The parts of the county of Wiltshire, the district of North Wiltshire and the parish of Nettleton marked A6 and A7 on boundary map 6 shall be transferred to—
  - (a) the county of Avon and the Sodbury electoral division of that county;
  - (b) the district of Northavon and the Badminton ward of that district;
  - (c) the parish of Acton Turville;
  - (d) the Avon North petty sessional division;
  - (e) the Avon Coroner's district.
- (2) The part of the county of Wiltshire, the district of North Wiltshire and the parish of Nettleton marked A3 on boundary map 3 shall be transferred to—
  - (a) the county of Avon and the Sodbury electoral division of that county;
  - (b) the district of Northavon and the Badminton ward of that district;
  - (c) the parish of Tormarton;
  - (d) the Avon North petty sessional division;
  - (e) the Avon Coroner's district.
- (3) The part of the county of Wiltshire, the district of North Wiltshire and the parish of Sopworth marked A1 on boundary map 1 shall be transferred to—
  - (a) the county of Avon and the Sodbury electoral division of that county;
  - (b) the district of Northavon and the Hawkesbury ward of that district;
  - (c) the parish of Hawkesbury and the Hawkesbury ward of that parish;
  - (d) the Avon North petty sessional division;
  - (e) the Avon Coroner's district.

#### Town and country planning

7. Any provisions of a structure plan, an old development plan (within the meaning of paragraph 2 of Schedule 7 to the Town and Country Planning Act 1971(3)) or a local plan made or adopted by a county or district council which apply immediately before 1st April 1990 to an area transferred by this Order shall continue to have effect in relation to that area as if they were part of such a plan made or adopted by the council of the county or district to which that area is transferred.

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment

1st February 1990

David Heathcoat-Amory
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department of the Environment

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order transfers areas between the counties of Avon, Somerset and Wiltshire. Consequential changes to districts, parishes and local government electoral areas are made.

The map forming part of this note (page 4) gives a general guide to the areas affected. Prints of the detailed boundary maps (described in article 2) may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of the district councils whose areas are affected by this order, and at the office of the Secretary of State for the Environment, 2 Marsham Street, London SW1P 3EB.

The areas transferred will have approximately the area and population shown below.

	Area (hectares)	Population	
Avon to Somerset	141	_	
Avon to Wiltshire	9	_	
Somerset to Avon	25	_	
Wiltshire to Avon	153	20	

The Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976 (S.I.1976/246, amended by S.I. 1978/247) contain general provisions regarding the effect of orders such as this one.

