STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 1990 No. 1272

## PREVENTION AND SUPPRESSION OF TERRORISM

The Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978 (Designation of Countries) Order 1990

Made	19th June 1990
Laid before Parliament	27th June 1990
Coming into force	1st August 1990

In exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 8 of the Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978(1), I hereby make the following Order:

**1.** This Order may be cited as the Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978 (Designation of Countries) Order 1990 and shall come into force on 1st August 1990.

**2.** Finland and Greece are hereby designated as parties to the European Convention on the Suppression of Terrorism signed at Strasbourg on 27th January 1977.

Home Office 19th June 1990 David Waddington One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State

## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order designates Finland and Greece for the purposes of the Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978 so that they become convention countries within the meaning of the Act.

The two countries are parties to the European Convention on the Suppression of Terrorism. The following countries have now been designated for the purposes of the Act: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Denmark, the Federal Republic of Germany (and Berlin (West)), Finland, France, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, the Republic of Ireland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and Turkey. In addition the 1978 Act has been applied to the United States of America by the Suppression of TerrorismAct 1978 (Application of Provisions) (United States of America) Order 1986 (S.I.1986/2146).

By virtue of article 1, this Order comes into force on 1st August 1990.