1989 No. 494

REPRESENTATION OF THE PEOPLE

REDISTRIBUTION OF SEATS

The European Parliamentary Constituencies (Scotland) (Miscellaneous Changes) Order 1989

Made - - - 15th March 1989

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

At the Court at Buckingham Palace, the 15th day of March 1989 Present,

The Queen's Most Excellent Majesty in Council

Whereas in pursuance of paragraph 3 of Schedule 2 to the European Parliamentary Elections Act 1978(a) the Boundary Commission for Scotland have submitted to the Secretary of State a supplementary report dated 5th January 1989 with respect to the areas comprised in certain European Parliamentary constituencies in Scotland and showing the European Parliamentary constituencies into which they recommend that the areas should be divided, in accordance with the provisions of paragraph 9 of the said Schedule 2:

And whereas the Secretary of State has laid that report before Parliament together with the draft of this Order in Council to give effect to the recommendations contained in the report and each House of Parliament has by resolution approved the said draft:

Now, therefore, Her Majesty, in pursuance of paragraph 4B of Schedule 2 to the European Parliamentary Elections Act 1978(b), is pleased, by and with the advice of Her Privy Council, to order, and it is hereby ordered, as follows:—

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the European Parliamentary Constituencies (Scotland) (Miscellaneous Changes) Order 1989.
- (2) Subject to paragraph 8(1) of Schedule 2 to the European Parliamentary Elections Act 1978(c), this Order shall come into force on the fourteenth day after the day on which it is made.
- 2. For the six European Parliamentary constituencies of Mid Scotland and Fife, Lothians, South of Scotland, Strathclyde East, Strathclyde West and Glasgow, as constituted by the European Parliamentary Constituencies (Scotland) Order 1984(d) (and described by reference to the parliamentary constituencies referred to in that Order), there shall be substituted the six European Parliamentary constituencies named on the left-hand side of the Schedule

⁽a) 1978 c.10; paragraph 3 of Schedule 2 was substituted by section 1(3) of the European Parliamentary Elections Act 1981 (c.8) and amended by paragraph 5(3) of Schedule 3 to the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986 (c.56); the words "European Parliamentary" were substituted for the words "European Assembly" in the provisions concerning the citation of the 1978 and 1981 Acts by section 3(1)(b) and (2)(b) of the European Communities (Amendment) Act 1986 (c.58) on the coming into force of the Single European Act on 1st July 1987.

⁽b) Paragraph 4B was inserted by paragraph 5(4) of Schedule 3 to the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986.
(c) Paragraph 8(1) was amended by paragraph 5(9) of Schedule 3 to the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986.

⁽d) S.I. 1984/548; the citation of this Order has been amended by section 3(1)(b) and (2)(b) of the European Communities (Amendment) Act 1986.

to this Order and comprising the parliamentary constituencies which are set out on the righthand side and which are constituted-

- (a) in the case of the Stirling, Edinburgh South, Ayr, Cunninghame South, Roxburgh and Berwickshire, Hamilton and Dumbarton constituencies, by the Parliamentary Constituencies (Scotland) (Miscellaneous Changes) Order 1987(a);
- (b) in the case of the Clackmannan, Falkirk East, Central Fife, Dunfermline East, Dunfermline West, North East Fife, Perth and Kinross, Edinburgh East, Midlothian, Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley, Clydesdale, Galloway and Upper Nithsdale, East Lothian, East Kilbride, Monklands East, Clydebank and Milngavie, Strathkelvin and Bearsden, Glasgow Cathcart, Glasgow Garscadden and Glasgow Maryhill constituencies, by the Parliamentary Constituencies (Scotland) (Miscellaneous Changes) Order 1988(b); and
- (c) in the case of the remaining constituencies by the Parliamentary Constituencies (Scotland) Order 1983(c).

G.I. de Deney Clerk of the Privy Council

⁽a) S.I. 1987/469.(b) S.I. 1988/1992.(c) S.I. 1983/422.

NAMES AND AREAS OF ALTERED EUROPEAN PARLIAMENTARY CONSTITUENCIES IN SCOTLAND

Mid Scotland and Fife The parliamentary constituencies of-

Clackmannan
Falkirk East
Falkirk West
Stirling
Central Fife
Dunfermline East
Dunfermline West
Kirkcaldy

Kirkcaldy
North East Fife
Perth and Kinross

Lothians The parliamentary constituencies of-

Edinburgh Central
Edinburgh East
Edinburgh Leith
Edinburgh Pentlands
Edinburgh South
Edinburgh West
Linlithgow
Livingston
Midlothian

South of Scotland The parliamentary constituencies of-

Ayr

Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley

Clydesdale

Cunninghame South

Dumfries

Galloway and Upper Nithsdale

East Lothian

Roxburgh and Berwickshire Tweeddale, Ettrick and Lauderdale

Strathclyde East The parliamentary constituencies of-

Cumbernauld and Kilsyth

East Kilbride Glasgow Rutherglen

Hamilton

Kilmarnock and Loudoun

Monklands East Monklands West Motherwell North Motherwell South

Strathclyde West The parliamentary constituencies of-

Clydebank and Milngavie Cunninghame North

Dumbarton

Eastwood Greenock and Port Glasgow

Paisley North Paisley South

Renfrew West and Inverciyde Strathkelvin and Bearsden

Glasgow The parliamentary constituencies of-

Glasgow Cathcart Glasgow Central Glasgow Govan Glasgow Hillhead Glasgow Maryhill Glasgow Pollok Glasgow Provan Glasgow Shettleston Glasgow Springburn

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect without modification to the recommendations contained in the supplementary report of the Boundary Commission for Scotland dated 5th January 1989. The report contains proposals for changes to the areas comprised in the European Parliamentary constituencies of Mid Scotland and Fife, Lothians, South of Scotland, Strathclyde East, Strathclyde West, and Glasgow where changes to the boundaries of parliamentary constituencies have resulted in inconsistencies between those boundaries and the boundaries of European Parliamentary constituencies. Article 2 of, and the Schedule to, this Order set out the altered constituencies.

By virtue of the provision referred to in article 1(2), the altered constituencies will only have effect from the next European Parliamentary general election.

85p net

ISBN 0 11 096494 2