#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 1989 No. 282

# **EDUCATION, ENGLAND AND WALES**

The Education (Designated Institutions) Order 1989

Made - - - - Ist March 1989
Laid before Parliament 9th March 1989
Coming into force - - 1st April 1989

In exercise of the powers conferred by sections 129(1) and 130(1)(a) of the Education Reform Act 1988(1) the Secretary of State for Education and Science hereby makes the following Order:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Education (Designated Institutions) Order 1989 and shall come into force on 1st April 1989.
- **2.** The institutions which are specified in the Schedule to this Order, being institutions which appear to the Secretary of State to fall within subsection (2) or (3) of section 129 of the Education Reform Act 1988, are hereby designated as institutions eligible to receive support from funds administered by the Polytechnics and Colleges Funding Council.
  - 3. Section 130 of that Act shall apply to those institutions specified in Part I of that Schedule.

#### **SCHEDULE**

## PART 1

Camborne School of Mines

The Polytechnic of Central London

Central School of Speech and Drama (London)

City of London Polytechnic

Dartington College of Arts (Devon)

Derbyshire College of Higher Education

The Polytechnic of North London

Rose Bruford College of Speech and Drama (Bexley)

The Polytechnic of the South Bank (London)

Thames Polytechnic (London)

West London Institute of Higher Education

West Sussex Institute of Higher Education

## PART 2

Bishop Grosseteste College, Lincoln

Chester College of Higher Education

Christ Church College of Higher Education (Canterbury)

College of Ripon and York St John (North Yorkshire)

The College of St Mark and St John Foundation (Plymouth)

College of St Paul and St Mary (Cheltenham)

Harper Adams Agricultural College (Newport, Shropshire)

Homerton College, Cambridge

King Alfred's College (Winchester)

La Sainte Union College of Higher Education (Southampton)

Liverpool Institute of Higher Education

Newman College (Birmingham)

Roehampton Institute of Higher Education

Royal Academy of Music (London)

Royal College of Music (London)

Royal College of Nursing, Institute of Advanced Nursing Education (London)

S Martin's College, Lancaster

St Mary's College, Strawberry Hill (Twickenham)

Trinity and All Saints College (Leeds)

Trinity College of Music, London

Westhill College (Birmingham)

Westminster College (Oxford)

Document Generated: 2023-12-04

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

1st March 1989

Kenneth Baker
Secretary of State for Education and Science

## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order designates as from 1st April 1989 certain educational institutions as institutions eligible to receive funds from the Polytechnics and Colleges Funding Council. In respect of those which prior to that date are assisted by a local education authority section 130 of the Education Reform Act 1988 is applied so as to effect a transfer of relevant property, rights and liabilities from the authority to the institution on that date.