STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1989 No. 2448 (S.165)

ELECTRICITY

The Electricity Act 1989 (Nominated Companies) (Scotland) Order 1989

Made - - - - 19th December 1989

The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 67(1) and (2) of the Electricity Act 1989((1)), and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, after consultation with the North of Scotland Hydro-Electric Board and the South of Scotland Electricity Board, and with the consent of the Treasury as required by section 65(4) of that Act, hereby makes the following Order:

1. This Order may be cited as the Electricity Act 1989 (Nominated Companies) (Scotland) Order 1989.

2.—(1) The companies whose names and registered numbers appear in the Schedule to this Order are hereby nominated for the purposes of section 67(1) of the Electricity Act 1989.

(2) Of those companies, Scottish Hydro-Electric plc and Scottish Power plc are designated as the Scottish electricity companies and Scottish Nuclear Limited is designated as the Scottish nuclear company.

St Andrew's House, Edinburgh 18th December 1989 Malcolm Rifkind One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State We consent,

Thomas Sackville Kenneth Carlisle Two of the Lord Commissioners of Her Majesty's Treasury

19th December 1989

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

SCHEDULE

Article 2(1)

Companies nominated for purposes of section 67(1)

- 1. Scottish Hydro-Electric plc (registered in Scotland number 117119).
- 2. Scottish Power plc (registered in Scotland number 117120).
- 3. Scottish Nuclear Limited (registered in Scotland number 117121).

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order nominates Scottish Hydro-Electric plc, Scottish Power plc and Scottish Nuclear Limited as the companies to which the property, rights and liabilities of the Scottish Electricity Boards may be transferred in accordance with schemes made under section 67 of the Electricity Act 1989. The first two of these companies are designated as the Scottish electricity companies and the third as the Scottish nuclear company.