STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1989 No. 210

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

CHANGES IN LOCAL GOVERNMENT AREAS

The Lincolnshire and Nottinghamshire (County Boundaries) Order 1989

Made	16th February 1989
Laid before Parliament	27th February 1989
Coming into force	
for the purposes referred to in article 1(2)	20th March 1989
for all other purposes	1st April 1989

The Secretary of State, in exercise of his powers under sections 51(2) and 67(4) and (5) of the Local Government Act 1972(1) and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order which gives effect to proposals submitted to him under sections 47, 48(1) and 51(1) of that Act, more than six weeks before the making of this Order, by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England:

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Lincolnshire and Nottinghamshire (County Boundaries) Order 1989.

(2) This Order shall come into force on 20th March 1989 for any purpose set out in regulation 4(1) (coming into operation of order) of the Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976(**2**).

(3) For all other purposes this Order shall come into force on 1st April 1989.

Interpretation

2. In this Order "boundary map" means one of the 2 maps prepared by the Department of the Environment, marked "Maps of the Lincolnshire and Nottinghamshire (County Boundaries) Order 1989", duly numbered for reference, and deposited in accordance with regulation 5 of the Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976.

(1) 1972 c. 70.

⁽²⁾ S.I. 1976/246, amended by S.I. 1978/247.

Transfer from Lincolnshire to Nottinghamshire

3. The part of the county of Lincolnshire, the district of North Kesteven and the parish of Doddington and Whisby which is marked A 3 on boundary map 2 shall be transferred to:

- (a) the county of Nottinghamshire and the Collingham electoral division of that county;
- (b) the district of Newark and Sherwood and the Meering ward of that district;
- (c) the parish of Harby;
- (d) the Newark and Southwell petty sessional division;
- (e) the Nottinghamshire Coroner's district.

Transfers from Nottinghamshire to Lincolnshire

4.—(1) The parish of Broadholme in the county of Nottinghamshire and district of Newark and Sherwood, the area of which is marked A 1 on boundary map 1, shall be transferred to–

- (a) the county of Lincolnshire and the Nettleham and Saxilby electoral division of that county;
- (b) the district of West Lindsey and the Saxilby ward of that district;
- (c) the Lincoln (County) petty sessional division;
- (d) the Lincoln Coroner's district.

(2) The part of the county of Nottinghamshire, the district of Newark and Sherwood and the parish of Harby which is marked A 2 on boundary maps 1 and 2 shall be transferred to–

- (a) the county of Lincolnshire and the Nettleham and Saxilby electoral division of that county;
- (b) the district of West Lindsey and the Saxilby ward of that district;
- (c) the parish of Broadholme;
- (d) the Lincoln (County) petty sessional division;
- (e) the Lincoln Coroner's district.

Consequential electoral provision for parish authorities

5.—(1) The common parish council of the parishes of Broadholme and Thorney shall be dissolved and its parish councillors resign.

(2) There shall be a new parish council for the parish of Thorney which shall consist of 5 parish councillors.

(3) From 1st April 1989 until the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of parish councillors in 1991 the parish of Thorney shall be represented by the councillors who immediately before 1st April 1989 represented the parish of Thorney on the common parish council of the parishes of Broadholme and Thorney.

(4) The proper officer of the West Lindsey District Council shall convene the first assembly of the Broadholme parish meeting in the year beginning on 1st April 1989.

Consequential financial provision for parish authorities

6.—(1) The sum required to meet 28.69% of the expenses of the common parish council of the parishes of Broadholme and Thorney in respect of the poll held by that parish council on 14th December 1987 shall be chargeable on the parish of Broadholme.

(2) The residuary successor of the common parish council of the parishes of Broadholme and Thorney shall be the Thorney Parish Council.

(3) In the financial year beginning on 1st April 1989–

- (a) the Newark and Sherwood District Council shall levy rates in the parish of Thorney, and
- (b) the West Lindsey District Council shall levy rates in the parish of Broadholme

as if the council of the parish of Thorney and the chairman of the parish meeting of Broadholme had issued a precept to the relevant district council requiring the payment of a sum equal to the product of a rate in the pound as shown below, calculated on the total rateable value of the relevant parish as set out in the valuation list at the begining of that financial year–

Thorney	4.20p.
Broadholme	1.55p.

Town and Country Planning

7. Any provisions of a structure plan, the old development plan (within the meaning of paragraph 2 of Schedule 7 to the Town and Country Planning Act 1971(3)) or a local plan made or adopted by a county or district council which apply immediately before 1st April 1989 to any area transferred by this Order shall continue to have effect in relation to that area as if they were part of such a plan made or adopted by the council of the county or district to which that area is transferred.

Land Registration

8. Registration of title to land under the Land Registration Acts 1925 to 1986(4) shall be compulsory on sale throughout the district of Newark and Sherwood as altered by article 3.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State

16th February 1989

Virginia Bottomley Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Department of the Environment

⁽**3**) 1971 c. 78.

^{(4) 1925} c. 21; 1936 c. 26; 1966 c. 39; 1971 c. 54; 1986 c. 26.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order transfers areas between the county of Lincolnshire and districts of North Kesteven and West Lindsey and the county of Nottinghamshire and district of Newark and Sherwood.

Consequential changes to local government electoral areas are made.

The map forming part of this note (page 4) gives a general guide to the areas affected. Prints of the detailed boundary maps (described in article 2) may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of the district councils affected by the Order and at the office of the Secretary of State for the Environment, 2 Marsham Street, London SW1P 3EB.

The areas transferred to Lincolnshire have approximately an area of 268 hectares, a population of 113 and a rateable value of £7,540. The area transferred to Nottinghamshire is very small.

The Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976 (S.I.1976/246, amended by S.I. 1978/247) contain general provisions regarding the effect of orders such as this one.

