STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1989 No. 2097

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

CHANGES IN LOCAL GOVERNMENT AREAS

The Cumbria, Northumberland and North Yorkshire (County Boundaries) Order 1989

Made - - - - 10th November 1989
Laid before Parliament 21st November 1989
Coming into force
for the purposes referred to
in article 1(2) 12th December 1989
for all other purposes 1st April 1990

The Secretary of State, in exercise of his powers under sections 51(2) and 67(4) of the Local Government Act 1972(1) and of all powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order which gives effect with modifications to proposals submitted to him under sections 47, 48(1) and 51(1) of that Act, more than six weeks before the making of this Order, by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England:

Citation and Commencement

- **1.**—(1) This Order may be cited as the Cumbria, Northumberland and North Yorkshire (County Boundaries) Order 1989.
- (2) This Order shall come into force on 12th December 1989 for any purpose set out in regulation 4(1) (coming into operation of order) of the Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976(2).
 - (3) For all other purposes this Order shall come into force on 1st April 1990.

Interpretation

2. In this order "boundary map" means one of the 2 maps prepared by the Department of the Environment, marked "Maps of the Cumbria, Northumberland and North Yorkshire (County

^{(1) 1972} c. 70

⁽²⁾ S.I. 1976/246, amended by S.I. 1978/247.

Boundaries) Order 1989", duly numbered for reference, and deposited in accordance with regulation 5 of the Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976.

Transfer from Cumbria to Northumberland

- **3.** The part of the county of Cumbria, the City of Carlisle and the parish of Midgeholme marked A3 on boundary map 1 shall be transferred to—
 - (a) the county of Northumberland and the Plenmeller electoral division of that county;
 - (b) the district of Tynedale and the West Tynedale ward of that district;
 - (c) the parish of Hartleyburn;
 - (d) the petty sessional division of Tynedale;
 - (e) the South Northumberland Coroner's district.

Transfer from Cumbria to North Yorkshire

- **4.** The part of the county of Cumbria, the district of Eden and the parish of Kaber marked A4 on boundary map 2 shall be transferred to—
 - (a) the county of North Yorkshire and the Upper Dales electoral division of that county;
 - (b) the district of Richmondshire and the Grinton and Upper Swaledale ward of that district;
 - (c) the parish of Muker;
 - (d) the petty sessional division of Richmond and Gilling West;
 - (e) the Western Coroner's district of North Yorkshire.

Transfers from Northumberland to Cumbria

- **5.** The parts of the county of Northumberland, the district of Tynedale and the parish of Hartleyburn marked A1 and A2 on boundary map 1 shall be transferred to—
 - (a) the county of Cumbria and the Brampton and Gilsland electoral division of that county;
 - (b) the city of Carlisle and the Irthing ward of that city;
 - (c) the parish of Midgeholme;
 - (d) the petty sessional division of Carlisle;
 - (e) the North Eastern Cumbria Coroner's district.

Town and Country Planning

6. Any provisions of a structure plan, an old development plan (within the meaning of paragraph 2 of Schedule 7 to the Town and Country Planning Act 1971 (3)) or a local plan made or adopted by a county or district council which apply immediately before 1st April 1990 to an area transferred by this Order shall continue to have effect in relation to that area as if they were part of such a plan made or adopted by the council of the county or district to which that area is transferred.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of Statefor the Environment

10th November 1989

David Heathcoat-Amory
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department of the Environment

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order transfers areas between the counties of Cumbria, Northumberland and North Yorkshire. Consequential changes to districts, parishes and local government electoral areas are made.

The map forming part of this note (page 4) gives a general guide to the areas affected. Prints of the detailed boundary maps (described in article 2) may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of the district councils whose areas are affected by this order, and at the office of the Secretary of State for the Environment, 2 Marsham Street, London SW1P 3EB.

The areas transferred will have approximately the area and population shown below-

	Area (hectares)	Population	
Cumbria to Northumberland	0.71	0	
Cumbria to North Yorkshire	1.13	0	
Northumberland to Cumbria	3.41	9	

The Local Government Area Changes Regulations (S.I.1976/246, amended by S.I. 1978/247) contain general provisions regarding the effect of orders such as this one.