## 1989 No. 1902

## LAND REGISTRATION, ENGLAND AND WALES

# The Land Registration (District Registries) Order 1989

Made - - -

5th October 1989

Coming into force

1st February 1990

The Lord Chancellor, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 132 of the Land Registration Act 1925(a), and with the concurrence of the Treasury, hereby makes the following Order:-

## Title, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order, which supersedes the Land Registration (District Registries) Order 1988(b), may be cited as the Land Registration (District Registries) Order 1989 and shall come into force on 1st February 1990.
  - (2) In this Order, unless the context otherwise requires -
    - "the Act" means the Land Registration Act 1925;
    - "district registry" means a district registry of the Land Registry within the meaning of section 132 of the Act;
    - "the Schedule" means the Schedule to this Order.

### **District Registries**

- 2.—(1) (a) There shall continue to be district registries bearing the names and at the places specified in column 1 in Part I of the Schedule.
  - (b) On and after the date specified in column 1 in Part II of the Schedule there shall be a new district registry bearing the name and at the place specified in that column.
- (2) Each district registry shall be the proper office for the purposes of the registration of titles to land wholly or partly in its district, which shall comprise the administrative areas specified opposite its name in columns 2 and 3 in both Parts of the Schedule:

#### Provided that -

the county of East Sussex shall not form part of the district of the Portsmouth District Land Registry before 1st October 1990 and shall not form part of the district of the Tunbridge Wells District Land Registry on or after that date;

and the provisions of the Schedule shall be construed accordingly.

Dated 27th September 1989

We concur,

Mackay of Clashfern, C. Stephen Dorrell, Kenneth Carlisle,

Dated 5th October 1989

Two of the Lords Commissioners of Her Majesty's Treasury

# **SCHEDULE**

## PART I

# CONTINUING DISTRICT REGISTRIES

(1) District Registry	(2) Counties (including the Isles of Scilly)	(3) London Boroughs (including the City and the Temples)
The Birkenhead District Land Registry at Birkenhead	Cheshire Merseyside Staffordshire	
The Coventry District Land Registry at Coventry	West Midlands	
The Croydon District Land Registry at Croydon		Bexley Bromley Croydon Sutton
The Durham District Land Registry at Durham	Cleveland Cumbria Durham Northumberland North Yorkshire Surrey Tyne and Wear	
The Gloucester District Land Registry at Gloucester	Berkshire Gloucestershire Oxfordshire Warwickshire Wiltshire	
The Harrow District Land Registry at Harrow on the Hill		Barnet Brent The City of London The Inner Temple and the Middle Temple Camden City of Westminster Hammersmith and Fulham Harrow Islington Kensington and Chelsea
The Kingston upon Hull District Land Registry at Kingston upon Hull	Humberside Lincolnshire Norfolk Suffolk	
The Leicester District Land Registry at Leicester	Buckinghamshire Leicestershire	
The Lytham District Land Registry at Lytham St. Annes	Greater Manchester Lancashire	
The Nottingham District Land Registry at Nottingham	Derbyshire Nottinghamshire South Yorkshire West Yorkshire	

(1) District Registry	(2) Counties (including the Isles of Scilly)	(3) London Boroughs (including the City and the Temples)
The Peterborough District Land Registry at Peterborough	Bedfordshire Cambridgeshire Essex Northamptonshire	
The Plymouth District Land Registry at Plymouth	Avon Cornwall Devon Isles of Scilly Somerset	
The Stevenage District Land Registry at Stevenage	Hertfordshire	Barking and Dagenham Enfield Hackney Haringey Havering Newham Redbridge Tower Hamlets Waltham Forest
The Swansea District Land Registry at Swansea	Hereford and Worcester All counties in Wales	Ealing Hillingdon Hounslow
The Telford District Land Registry at Telford	Shropshire	Greenwich Kingston upon Thames Lambeth Lewisham Merton Richmond upon Thames Southwark Wandsworth
The Tunbridge Wells District Land Registry at Tunbridge Wells	Kent	
	East Sussex (only before 1st October 1990)	_
The Weymouth District Land Registry at Weymouth	Dorset Hampshire Isle of Wight West Sussex	

# PART II NEW DISTRICT REGISTRY

(1) District Registry	(2) Counties (including the Isles of Scilly)	(3) London Boroughs (including the City and the Temples)
The Portsmouth District Land Registry at Portsmouth on and after 1st October 1990	East Sussex	

## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order, which supersedes the Land Registration (District Registries) Order 1988, constitutes a new district land registry at Portsmouth. The Order also transfers responsibility for the registration of titles:—

- (a) in the county of Leicestershire from the Nottingham to the Leicester District Land Registry as from 1st February 1990;
- (b) in the county of East Sussex from the Tunbridge Wells to the Portsmouth District Land Registry as from 1st October 1990.

The areas of the remaining district registries at Birkenhead, Coventry, Croydon, Durham, Gloucester, Harrow, Kingston upon Hull, Lytham, Peterborough, Plymouth, Stevenage, Swansea, Telford and Weymouth are unchanged.

90p net

ISBN 0 11 097902 8