STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1989 No. 1348

ARBITRATION

The Arbitration (Foreign Awards) Order 1989

Made - - - - 2nd August 1989

Coming into force - - 1st September 1989

At the Court at Buckingham Palace, the 2nd day of August 1989 Present,

The Queen's Most Excellent Majesty in Council

Her Majesty, in pursuance of the powers conferred on Her by section 7(2) and (3) of the Arbitration Act 1975(1) and of all other powers enabling Her in that behalf, is pleased, by and with the advice of Her Privy Council, to declare, and it is hereby declared, as follows:

- **1.** This Order may be cited as the Arbitration (Foreign Awards) Order 1989 and shall come into force on 1st September 1989.
- **2.** The States listed in the Schedule to this Order are parties to the New York Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards(**2**) which was adopted on 10th June 1958 and came into force in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland on 23rd December 1975.
- **3.** The Arbitration (Foreign Awards) (Amendment) Order 1985(**3**) and the Arbitration (Foreign Awards) Order 1986(**4**) are hereby revoked.

G. I. de Deney Clerk of the Privy Council

^{(1) 1975} c. 3.

⁽²⁾ Cmnd. 6419.

⁽³⁾ S.I. 1985/455.

⁽⁴⁾ S.I. 1986/949.

THE SCHEDULE

NEW YORK CONVENTION STATES

Algeria
Antigua and Barbados
Argentina
Bahrain
Burkina Faso
Cameroon
Canada
China
Costa Rica
Dominica
Kenya
Malaysia
Panama
Peru
Singapore

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order declares Algeria, Antigua and Barbados, Argentina, Bahrain, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Canada, China, Costa Rica, Dominica, Kenya, Peru and Singapore as parties to the 1958 New York Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards. Arbitral awards made in these States are enforceable in the United Kingdom under the Arbitration Act 1975. Two previous Orders (the Arbitration (Foreign Awards) (Amendment) Order 1985 (S.I.1985/455) and the Arbitration (Foreign Awards) Order 1986) (S.I. 1986/949) have been revoked and the States concerned (Panama and Malaysia) included in the Schedule to this Order. Schedule 2 of the Arbitration (Foreign Awards) Order 1984 (S.I. 1984/1168) and the Schedule to this Order now contain a comprehensive list of the States declared to be parties to the New York Convention.