STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1988 No. 253

MUSEUMS AND GALLERIES

The Imperial War Museum (Board of Trustees) Order 1988

Made - - - - - Coming into force forthwith

17th February 1988

At the Court at Buckingham Palace, the 17th day of February 1988 Present,

The Queen's Most Excellent Majesty in Council

Whereas a draft of this Order has in accordance with section 6(1) of the Statutory Instruments Act 1946(1) been laid before each House of Parliament for forty days during which period neither House has resolved that the draft be not submitted to Her Majesty:

Now, therefore, Her Majesty, in exercise of the powers conferred upon Her by section 1(2) of the Imperial War Museum Act 1955(2), is pleased, by and with the advice of Her Privy Council, to order, and it is hereby ordered, as follows:

1. This Order may be cited as the Imperial War Museum (Board of Trustees) Order 1988 and shall come into force forthwith.

2. Paragraph (1) of the Schedule to the Imperial War Museum Act 1920(**3**) shall be varied by omitting from the Table set out therein the entries relating to the Treasury and the Secretary of State and by adding at the beginning of the said Table, in the first and second columns respectively, the figure "10" and the words "the Prime Minister".

G. I. de Deney Clerk of the Privy Council

(**1**) 1946 c. 36

⁽**2**) 1955 c. 14.

^{(3) 1920} c. 16; paragraph (1) of the Schedule was substituted by S.I.1986/2239.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

Paragraph (1) of the Schedule to the Imperial War Museum Act 1920 specifies in a Table the authorities entitled to appoint members of the Board of Trustees of the Imperial War Museum and the number of members to be appointed by each. This Order varies the Table set out in that paragraph. It removes the Treasury as appointing authority for nine trustees and the Secretary of State as appointing authority for one trustee and confers the power to appoint ten trustees on the Prime Minister.