STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1988 No. 2266

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The County of Dyfed (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1988

Made - - - - 22nd December

1988

Coming into force in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 58(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(1), the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales on 14th September 1988 submitted to me proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the County of Dyfed:

And whereas in giving effect to those proposals I have decided to make certain modifications:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 58(2) and 67 of that Act, I hereby make the following Order:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the County of Dyfed (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1988.
- 2. This Order shall come into force on 4th May 1989 except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day it shall come into force forthwith.
- **3.**—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the County of Dyfed shall be abolished and that County shall be divided into seventy electoral divisions which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each electoral division shall comprise the existing areas specified opposite thereto in column 2 of that Schedule.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each electoral division constituted by this Order shall be one.
- **4.** The ordinary elections of all councillors for the County of Dyfed shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of county councillors in 1989 and every fourth year thereafter.
- **5.** Each registration officer shall make such re-arrangement or alteration of the register of local government electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into force of this Order.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Home Office 2nd December 1988 Douglas Hurd
One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of
State

SCHEDULE Article 3(1)

NAMES AND AREAS OF NEW ELECTORAL DIVISIONS

1 Name of new electoral division	2 Area of new electoral division
In the District of Carmarthen	
Abergwili	The Abergwili, Cynwyl Elfed and Trelech wards
Carmarthen Town North	The Carmarthen Town North ward
Carmarthen Town South	The Carmarthen Town South and Llangunnor wards
Carmarthen Town West	The Carmarthen Town West ward
Gorslas	The Gorslas and Llanddarog wards
Llanfihangel-ar-Arth	The Llanfihangel-ar-Arth, Llanllwni, Llanybydder and Pencarreg wards
Llangeler	The Cenarth and Llangeler wards
Llangyndeyrn	The Llandyfaelog, Llangyndeyrn and St. Ishmael wards
Llansteffan	The Llansteffan and Newchurch wards
St. Clears	The Laugharne Township, Llanddowror and St. Clears wards
Whitland	The Clynderwen, Llanboidy and Whitland wards
In the District of Ceredigion	
Aberporth	The Aberporth and Penbryn wards and the Community of Y Ferwig
Aberteifi	The Cardigan ward
Aberystwyth North	The Aberystwyth East and Aberystwyth North wards
Aberystwyth South	The Aberystwyth South and Aberystwyth West wards
Beulah	The Beulah and Troedyraur wards and the Community of Llangoedmor
Borth	The Borth, Ceulanamaesmawr and Tirymynach wards
Lampeter	The Lampeter and Llangybi wards
Llanbadarn Fawr	The Faenor, Llanbadarn Fawr and Trefeurig wards and the Communities of Blaenrheidol and Melindwr
Llandyfriog	The Capel Dewi, Llandyfriog and Llandysul Town wards
	10wn wards

1	2
Name of new electoral division	Area of new electoral division
Llandysiliogogo	The Llanarth, Llandysiliogogo and New Quay wards
Llanfihangel Ystrad	The Llanfihangel Ystrad and Llanwenog wards
Llansantffraid	The Aberaeron, Ciliau Aeron and Llansantffraid wards
Lledrod	The Llangeitho, Lledrod and Tregaron wards
Ystwyth	The Llanfarian, Llanrhystyd and Ystwyth wards and the Community of Pontarfynach
In the Borough of Dinefwr	
Ammanford	The Ammanford, Betws, Myddynfych, Pantyffynnon and Pontamman wards
Glanamman	The Garnant and Glanamman wards
Llandovery	The Cynwyl Gaeo, Llandovery and Llanfair-ar- y-bryn wards
Llandybie	The Llandybie ward and the Community of Llanfihangel Aberbythych
Llanegwad	The Castle, Llandeilo, Llanegwad and Talley wards and the Community of Llangathen
Llangadog	The Ffairfach, Llangadog, Manordeilo and Myddfai wards
Quarter Bach	The Brynamman, Llynfell and Quarter Bach wards
Saron	The Penygroes and Saron wards
In the Borough of Llanelli	
Bigyn	The Bigyn ward
Burry Port	The Burry Port ward
Elli	The Elli ward
Felinfoel	The Felinfoel and Swiss Valley wards
Glanymor	The Glanymor ward
Hengoed	The Hengoed ward
Kidwelly	The Kidwelly ward
Llanedi	The Hendy and Tycroes wards
Llangennech	The Dafen and Llangennech wards
Llannon	The Cross Hands and Tumble wards
Lliedi	The Lliedi ward
Llwynhendy	The Bynea and Llwynhendy wards
Pembrey	The Pembrey and Trimsaran wards
	A

1	2
Name of new electoral division	Area of new electoral division
Pontyberem	The Glyn and Pontyberem wards
Tyisha	The Tyisha ward
In the District of Preseli	
Camrose	The Camrose and Letterston wards
CrymychThe Cilgerran, Clydey and Crymych wards	
Fishguard	The Fishguard, Goodwick and Scleddau wards
Hakin	The Hakin ward
Llangwm	The Burton, Llangwm and Merlin's Bridge wards
Milford Central and East	The Milford Central and East ward
Milford North and West	The Milford North and West ward
Neyland	The Neyland East and Neyland West wards
Portfield	The Garth ward
Priory	The Castle, Prendergast and Priory wards
Rudbaxton	The Maenclochog, Rudbaxton and Wiston wards
St. David's	The Brawdy, Solva and St. David's wards
St. Dogmaels	The Dinas Cross, Newport and St. Dogmaels wards
The Havens	The Johnston, St. Ishmael's and The Havens wards
In the District of South Pembrokeshire	
East Williamston	The Carew, East Williamston and Manorbier wards and the Community of Penally
Narberth	The Lampeter Velfrey, Martletwy, Narberth Rural and Narberth Urban wards
Pembroke Dock Llanion	The Pembroke Dock Central and Pembroke Dock Llanion wards and the Community of Cosheston
Pembroke Dock Pennar	The Pembroke Dock Market and Pembroke Dock Pennar wards
Pembroke St. Mary	The Pembroke Monkton and Pembroke St. Mary wards
Pembroke St. Michael	The Hundleton, Pembroke St. Michael and Stackpole wards and the Community of Lamphey
Saundersfoot	The Amroth, Begelly and Saundersfoot wards

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

1	2
Name of new electoral division	Area of new electoral division
Tenby	The Tenby ward and the Community of St. Mary Out Liberty and the Island of Caldey