## 1988 No. 2234

## **PROBATION**

## The Combined Probation Areas (Warwickshire) Order 1988

Made - - -

20th December 1988

Coming into force

1st January 1989

In exercise of the powers conferred upon me by section 54(4) of, and paragraph 1 of Schedule 3 to, the Powers of Criminal Courts Act 1973(a), and after the consultation required by that paragraph, I hereby make the following Order:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Combined Probation Areas (Warwickshire) Order 1988 and shall come into force on 1st January 1989.
- 2. That part of Schedule 2 to the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986(b) which relates to the Warwickshire Probation Committee shall be amended by—
  - (a) omitting the entries in respect of the petty sessions areas of Alcester, Kineton, Shipston on Stour, Southam, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick; and
  - (b) inserting in alphabetical order in column 1—
    - (i) "Mid-Warwickshire" and corresponding to that in column 3 "4", and
    - (ii) "South Warwickshire" and corresponding to that in column 3 "5".
- 3.—(1) The three justices appointed to be members of the Warwickshire Probation Committee by the justices for the petty sessional divisions of Alcester, Kineton and Shipston on Stour respectively and the two justices so appointed by the justices for the petty sessional division of Stratford-upon-Avon, in each case before the abolition of the said petty sessional divisions and their reconstitution to form the new division of South Warwickshire, shall continue to hold office as members of that Committee, as if they had been appointed by the justices of that new division, until 30th November 1989 and shall then cease to hold office, but shall be eligible for re-appointment.
- (2) The justice appointed to be a member of that Committee by the justices for the petty sessional division of Southam and the three justices so appointed by the justices for the petty sessional division of Warwick, in each case before the abolition of the said petty sessional divisions and their reconstitution to form the new petty sessional division of Mid-Warwickshire, shall continue to hold office as members of that Committee, as if they had been appointed by the justices of that new division, until 30th November 1989 and shall then cease to hold office, but shall be eligible for re-appointment.

Home Office 20th December 1988 Douglas Hurd

One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State

<sup>(</sup>a) 1973 c.62.

<sup>(</sup>b) S.I. 1986/1713, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986 to take account of the abolition of the petty sessional divisions of Alcester, Kineton, Shipston on Stour, Southam, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick and their reconstitution into the new divisions of Mid-Warwickshire and South Warwickshire, effected by the Petty Sessional Divisions (Warwickshire) Order 1988 (S.I. 1988/1912) which comes into force on 1st January 1989.

45p net

ISBN 0 11 088234 2

Printed in the United Kingdom by Her Majesty's Stationery Office 790/WO2122 C10 1/89 3183800