Search Legislation

The Offshore Installations (Safety Zones) (No. 3) Order 1988

What Version

 Help about what version
  • Latest available (Revised)
  • Original (As made)


This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Statutory Instruments

1988 No. 1481


The Offshore Installations (Safety Zones) (No. 3) Order 1988


12th August 1988

Coming into force

3rd September 1988

The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 22(1) and (2) of the Petroleum Act 1987(1) (hereinafter referred to as “the Act”), and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

1.  This Order may be cited as the Offshore Installations (Safety Zones) (No. 3) Order 1988 and shall come into force on 3rd September 1988.

2.  A safety zone is hereby established around each of the installations specified in Column 2 of the Schedule hereto (being installations stationed in waters to which subsection (7) of section 21 of the Act applies) having a radius of five hundred metres from the point as respects each installation which has the co-ordinates of latitude and longitude according to European Datum (1950) specified with respect to the installation in Columns 3 and 4 of the Schedule.

Cecil Parkinson

Secretary of State for Energy

12th August 1988

Article 2


NumberName or other designation of the offshore installationLatitude NorthLongitude East
1Audrey Well 49/11A—753° 32' 28.31"02° 00' 32.35"
2Beryl Well 9/13A—3559° 30' 43.35"01° 31' 49.87"
3Crawford Well 9/28A—959° 06' 57.86"01° 29' 30.61"
4Della Well 48/30—1153° 04' 43.81"01° 53' 19.92"
5Ivanhoe/Robroy Riser Base Manifold 15/2158° 11' 35.36"00° 06' 40.73"
6Ivanhoe Manifold 15/2158° 11' 12.21"00° 05' 19.70"
7Robroy Manifold 15/2158° 11' 50.88"00° 08' 07.95"

Explanatory Note

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order establishes, under section 22 of the Petroleum Act 1987, safety zones, having a radius of 500 metres from a specified point, around the installations specified in the Schedule to the Order and stationed in waters to which section 21(7) of that Act applies (these include territorial waters and waters in areas designated under section 1(7) of the Continental Shelf Act 1964 (c. 29)).

Vessels (which for this purpose include hovercraft, submersible apparatus and installations in transit) are prohibited from entering or remaining in a safety zone except with the consent of the Secretary of State or in accordance with regulations made under section 23(1) of the Act (currently the Offshore Installations (Safety Zones) Regulations 1987 (S. I. 1987/1331)).

Back to top


Print Options


Legislation is available in different versions:

Latest Available (revised):The latest available updated version of the legislation incorporating changes made by subsequent legislation and applied by our editorial team. Changes we have not yet applied to the text, can be found in the ‘Changes to Legislation’ area.

Original (As Enacted or Made):The original version of the legislation as it stood when it was enacted or made. No changes have been applied to the text.


Opening Options

Different options to open legislation in order to view more content on screen at once


More Resources

Access essential accompanying documents and information for this legislation item from this tab. Dependent on the legislation item being viewed this may include:

  • the original print PDF of the as enacted version that was used for the print copy
  • lists of changes made by and/or affecting this legislation item
  • confers power and blanket amendment details
  • all formats of all associated documents
  • correction slips
  • links to related legislation and further information resources