1987 No. 939

LAND REGISTRATION, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Registration of Title Order 1987

Made - - -

18th May 1987

Coming into force

1st December 1987

At the Court at Buckingham Palace, the 18th day of May 1987 Present,

The Queen's Most Excellent Majesty in Council

Her Majesty, in exercise of the powers conferred on Her by section 120(1) and (6) of the Land Registration Act 1925(a) and sections 80(2) and 90 of the London Government Act 1963(b), is pleased, by and with the advice of Her Privy Council, to order and declare, and it is hereby ordered and declared, as follows:

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Registration of Title Order 1987 and shall come into force on 1st December 1987.
- (2) In this Order "remainder of the district of Ribble Valley" means that part of the district of Ribble Valley in which registration of land is not declared to be compulsory on sale by article 16 of the Lancashire (District Boundaries) Order 1986(c).
- 2.—(1) In addition to the areas mentioned in column 2 of the Schedule to the Registration of Title Order 1985(d) and in article 16 of the Lancashire (District Boundaries) Order 1986 (being the areas in England and Wales in which registration of title to land is already compulsory on sale) registration of title shall be compulsory on sale—
 - (a) on and after 1st December 1987, in the districts of Copeland, Derbyshire Dales, Derwentside, Eden, High Peak, South Lakeland, Teesdale and Wear Valley;
 - (b) on and after 1st March 1988, in the districts of Brecknock, Colwyn, East Hampshire, Glyndŵr, Hart, Lancaster, Montgomeryshire, Radnor, Rushmoor, Test Valley, Winchester, Wrexham Maelor, Wyre and Ynys Môn—Isle of Anglesey; and
 - (c) on and after 1st March 1988, in the remainder of the district of Ribble Valley.
- (2) Accordingly, on and after 1st March 1988, registration of title to land shall be compulsory on sale in the areas mentioned in column 2 of the Schedule to this Order.
 - (3) As from 1st March 1988, the Registration of Title Order 1985 shall cease to have effect.

G.I. de Deney Clerk of the Privy Council

⁽a) 1925 c. 21.

⁽b) 1963 c. 33.

⁽c) S.I. 1986/1909.

⁽d) S.I. 1985/1999.

(1)	(2)
County (including Greater London)	Areas of compulsory registration
Avon	The whole county
Bedfordshire	The whole county
Berkshire	The whole county
Buckinghamshire	The whole county
Cambridgeshire	The districts of Cambridge, Huntingdonshire, Peterborough and South Cambridgeshire
Cheshire	The whole county
Cleveland	The whole county
Clwyd	The whole county
Cornwall	The districts of Caradon and Restormel
Cumbria	The whole county
Derbyshire	The whole county
Devon	The districts of East Devon, Exeter, Mid Devon, North Devon, Plymouth, South Hams, Teignbridge and Torbay
Dorset	The districts of Bournemouth, Christchurch, Poole, Weymouth and Portland, and Wimborne
Durham	The whole county
Dyfed	The district of Llanelli
East Sussex	The whole county
Essex	The districts of Basildon, Braintree, Brentwood, Chelmsford, Colchester Epping Forest, Harlow, Southend-on-Sea, Thurrock and Uttlesford
Gloucestershire	The whole county
Greater London	The whole administrative area
Greater Manchester	The whole county
Gwent	The whole county
Gwynedd	The district of Ynys Môn—Isle of Anglesey
Hampshire	The whole county
Hereford and Worcester	The districts of Bromsgrove, Hereford, Redditch and Worcester
Hertfordshire	The whole county
Humberside	The whole county
Isle of Wight	The whole county
Kent	The whole county
Lancashire	The whole county
Leicestershire	The whole county
Lincolnshire	The district of Lincoln
Merseyside	The whole county
Mid Glamorgan	The whole county
Norfolk	The districts of Great Yarmouth and Norwich
Northamptonshire	The whole county
Northumberland	The districts of Blyth Valley, Castle Morpeth and Wansbeck
North Yorkshire	The districts of Craven, Harrogate, Selby and York
Nottinghamshire	The whole county
Oxfordshire	The whole county
Powys	The whole county
Shropshire	The districts of Bridgnorth and The Wrekin
Somerset	The districts of Taunton Deane and West Somerset

SCHEDULE — continued

(1) County (including Greater London)	(2) Areas of compulsory registration
South Yorkshire	The whole county
Staffordshire	The districts of Cannock Chase, Lichfield, Newcastle-under-Lyme, Stoke-on-Trent and Tamworth
Suffolk	The districts of Ipswich and Waveney
Surrey	The whole county
Tyne and Wear	The whole county
Warwickshire	The whole county
West Glamorgan	The whole county
West Midlands	The whole county
West Sussex	The whole county
West Yorkshire	The whole county
Wiltshire	The districts of Thamesdown and West Wiltshire

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order extends the system of compulsory registration of title on sale of land to the districts mentioned in article 2(1)(a) with effect from 1st December 1987 and to those mentioned in article 2(1)(b) with effect from 1st March 1988. In addition, by article 2(1)(c), compulsory registration which, in the district of Ribble Valley, applies only to the parish of Simonstone is extended to the whole of the district with effect from 1st March 1988.