Statutory Instruments

1987 No. 646


The Cardiff Bay Development Corporation (Area and Constitution) Order 1987

Approved by both Houses of Parliament


6th January 1987

Laid before Parliament

12th January 1987

Coming into force

3rd April 1987

Citation and commencement

1.  This Order may be be cited as the Cardiff Bay Development Corporation (Area and Constitution) Order 1987 and shall come into force on the day after the day on which it is approved by resolution of each House of Parliament.


2.  In this Order “the map” means the map entitled “Map referred to in the Cardiff Bay Development Corporation (Area and Constitution) Order 1987”, of which a print, signed by an Under Secretary in the Welsh Office, has been deposited and is available for inspection at each of the following offices, that is to say, the offices of the Secretary of State for Wales, South Glamorgan County Council, Cardiff City Council, Vale of Glamorgan Borough Council and Penarth Town Council.

Designation of urban development area

3.  The area shown on the map bounded externally by a black line edged internally with a stippled band is hereby designated as an urban development area (in this Order referred to as “the development area”).

Establishment of the Cardiff Bay Development Corporation

4.  For the purposes of regenerating the development area there is hereby established an urban development corporation named “The Cardiff Bay Development Corporation” with eleven members in addition to the chairman and deputy chairman.

Nicholas Edwards

Secretary of State for Wales

6th January 1987

Explanatory Note

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order designates an area of about 1,089 hectares, lying within the County of South Glamorgan and comprising parts of the City of Cardiff and the Borough of Vale of Glamorgan, as an urban development area. The Order establishes an urban development corporation to regenerate the area. The area is shown hatched black on the map forming part of this Note.

The Order provides that the development corporation is to be called the Cardiff Bay Development Corporation, and that it shall have 11 members as well as the Chairman and Deputy Chairman.